2

Author Topic: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber  (Read 2331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hero ITopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Helpful? 0
Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« on: June 11, 2014, 09:17:10 AM »
I'm having problems uploading to Axon II using McUber on my Windows 7 64 bit computer.

A "Message" window pops up that says "An error occurred while flashing" and in the main McUber window message area, a "Flashing FAILED!" message is displayed.

Here are the steps I'm taking...

I connect the Axon II to the computer via USB and connect the battery source to the Axon II with the switch turned "off".

In McUber, I specify the com port (COM6), set baud rate to 115200 and specify the hex program.

I then press the "Program" button in McUber and then switch power "on" to the Axon II.

After this, I get the error messages as described above.

Any ideas what might be the problem?

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2014, 01:02:41 PM »
If you also have an AVR-ISP MKII programmer plugged into the SPI port then remove it - it resets the chip about a second after power on and clobbers the download from McUber.

If you are new to all of this then here are some extras:-
1. Have you ever managed to xfer a hex file to the board using McUber?
2. If you have ever used a hardware programmer (like the AVR-ISP) then you will have zapped the bootloader on the board and so you will need to use the hardware programmer to re-install the bootloader onto the board.
3. Did you get the Axon from new (in which case it should have the bootloader subject to point 2 above). If you got it 'used' then the previous owner may also have wiped the bootloader.

Is the hex you are trying t upload from your own project (ie your code) or is it one of you've downloaded (like centering a servo)?

Reason for asking is that I've used WebbotLib Studio http://webbot.org.uk/iPoint/50.page to write, compile and then program Axons using both the FBoot protocol (as used by McUber) as well as via AVRISP. Its all built in - no need for other apps like McUber.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Hero ITopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 03:20:21 PM »
If you also have an AVR-ISP MKII programmer plugged into the SPI port then remove it - it resets the chip about a second after power on and clobbers the download from McUber.

The only thing plugged into my Axon II is the USB connection and battery power which is "off" until after I press the "Program" button in MCuber.

1. Have you ever managed to xfer a hex file to the board using McUber?

No.

2. If you have ever used a hardware programmer (like the AVR-ISP) then you will have zapped the bootloader on the board and so you will need to use the hardware programmer to re-install the bootloader onto the board.

I never used a hardware programmer on my "new" Axon II.

3. Did you get the Axon from new (in which case it should have the bootloader subject to point 2 above). If you got it 'used' then the previous owner may also have wiped the bootloader.

I bought it new.

Is the hex you are trying t upload from your own project (ie your code) or is it one of you've downloaded (like centering a servo)?

It is my own hex file. The C source was generated by Project Designer and compiled and linked in Atmel Studio 6.1

« Last Edit: June 16, 2014, 03:21:58 PM by Hero I »

Offline Hero ITopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 04:45:45 PM »
I even went on Yeta Corp's website last week and sent them an Email asking them about the problems I'm having with McUber, but haven't heard from them yet.

http://www.yetacorp.com/products/mcuber/

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2014, 07:46:29 PM »
Ok - can't vouch for the board - but maybe Admin (the manufacturer) can.

Could try Webbot Studio  http://webbot.org.uk/iPoint/50.page at least I can help with the log output from that.


 
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2014, 07:35:50 PM »
Just a silly question to get it out of the way . . .

Did you install the USB drivers, and does your PC properly recognize that the Axon is plugged in?

ps - I deleted your double post.

Offline Hero ITopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2014, 03:48:25 PM »
Did you install the USB drivers, and does your PC properly recognize that the Axon is plugged in?

Yes and yes.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2014, 02:26:10 PM »
Any word from Yeta Corp?

I few more silly questions, but just in case:
- You mentioned you used com port 6. Did you verify that this is the correct port?
- Is the battery fully charged, and what voltage?
- Try a different USB cable (I've actually had one that didn't work straight from the factory)
- Try without the on/off switch, just plug the battery into the battery pin (switch can also be broken)

My last suggestion is to get a hardware programmer . . .

Offline kl22

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2014, 08:16:35 PM »
Hey Hero I,

Just been super busy with alot of other stuff with my company for a while, but still I didn't receive an email from you.

Were you able to get it working? Have you tried what Webbot mentioned? Also, along with the Admin's questions, are you getting any activity from either the board or any progress updates in McUber?

As you can see the project was tabled for a while, but if there is a high enough demand for an application like McUber which was meant to be:
- Cross platform
- Expandable to not only Axon but to other board (by the community writing communication scripts outside of the core application)
- House a customized terminal
+ other requested feature (can be found in other posts in this forum)

I can look into allocating some resources to get a new version out. Admin please advice?

Other than that the only recommendation I could give you is to try out the older programmer in an XP environment to ensure that your board is functioning correctly.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2014, 08:21:48 PM by kl22 »

Offline Hero ITopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2014, 10:16:59 PM »
Any word from Yeta Corp?

I few more silly questions, but just in case:
- You mentioned you used com port 6. Did you verify that this is the correct port?
- Is the battery fully charged, and what voltage?
- Try a different USB cable (I've actually had one that didn't work straight from the factory)
- Try without the on/off switch, just plug the battery into the battery pin (switch can also be broken)

My last suggestion is to get a hardware programmer . . .

Hey Hero I,

Just been super busy with alot of other stuff with my company for a while, but still I didn't receive an email from you.

Were you able to get it working? Have you tried what Webbot mentioned? Also, along with the Admin's questions, are you getting any activity from either the board or any progress updates in McUber?

As you can see the project was tabled for a while, but if there is a high enough demand for an application like McUber which was meant to be:
- Cross platform
- Expandable to not only Axon but to other board (by the community writing communication scripts outside of the core application)
- House a customized terminal
+ other requested feature (can be found in other posts in this forum)

I can look into allocating some resources to get a new version out. Admin please advice?

Other than that the only recommendation I could give you is to try out the older programmer in an XP environment to ensure that your board is functioning correctly.

I dusted off my old 32 bit Windows XP system from storage, hooked it up, downloaded McUber on it and was successful flashing the hex file to the Axon II.

This proves that...
  • The Axon II is working as expected
  • The boot loader is working as expected
  • The USB cable is working as expected
  • The power source to my Axon II is working as expected
So, the problem seems to be with McUber not being able to run properly on my 64 bit Windows 7 computer.

Does McUber require the Microsoft Visual x64 Redistributable Package?

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
Re: Problems uploading to Axon II using McUber
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2014, 10:26:53 AM »
Yep there are different dll(s) required for 32 vs 64 bit. WebbotLibStudio (WLS) manages this for you (includes and uses the appropriate one)
Even if you don't want to use WLS to write your app then you can still use it to flash - just open the board, click the Flash icon, and browse to the hex file to upload it.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list