Author Topic: Cannot get samples from microchip :(  (Read 4063 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« on: August 23, 2007, 06:07:17 AM »
I registered with Microchip and filled out the sample request form but I get the following error :

"Microchip currently only accepts online sample orders from registered business or university email addresses. We currently do not accept orders from generic ISP accounts. Please do one of the following:

1. Register with a valid business or university email address and place your sample order
2. Visit www.microchipdirect.com to purchase parts

Thank you for your interest in Microchip."

Any ideas on how to get around this???
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2007, 07:19:25 AM »
Your new business is called Airman, Inc. :P

(remember not to abuse the system and give microchip credit with any writeup you make)

Offline Qubix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2007, 08:44:58 AM »
They probably checking if your email ends in (@hotmail or @gmail.com, etc) if you have another email address (which is uncommon) it will probably work. In the past my email address from my Irish ISP works because American companies have never heard of it and it slips through their filter of "generic ISP".  ;)
http://robots.ie  - Ireland's robot site

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2007, 02:56:07 PM »
I got an Irishnation account ( even though im in USA) and the samples went through. Thanks for the help Qubix! ;D
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Qubix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2007, 05:08:59 PM »
No problem,

Glad it worked for you, they have a really good samples service. :D

David
http://robots.ie  - Ireland's robot site

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2007, 07:28:54 PM »
I used the email addresses that came with my web space and this works fine, I just got a sample delivery from microchip this very morning as it happens, Im now waiting for my maxim-ic samples which have been sent eventually. Some of the components needed to be authorised by the business manager before theyd put them onto my sample order? Also does anyone know how many items you can sample from maxim-ic? theres no guide on their website

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2007, 10:01:25 PM »
Hmm I wanna try. Im gunna use my webspace email for it too =) Ill update you guys when I have one for you :)



-EDIT-
errm... how do I go about applying for a sample? lol
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 10:03:32 PM by HDL_CinC_Dragon »
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline RedHookRusty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2007, 10:40:27 PM »
https://sample.microchip.com/RegisterStep1.aspx
and just add to your sample cart.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2007, 10:41:21 PM »
ohhh ok thanks :)


-EDIT-
Ok I just created the account, waiting for the varification email to get to me :) then im gunna get me some goodies!

-EDIT-
Still waiting on that email. But I cant decide what I want to get! I was hoping they carried the AT Mega series... was hoping to score some free AT Mega 16s lol. I was gunna get the RF transmitter but its not a DIP package, its a QFN package... Im only looking for SDIPs >_<

-EDIT-
Heres what I picked:
PIC18LF2685-I/SP
DSPIC30F4012-30I/SP
93LC86C-I/P
ENC28J60-I/SP
Are these good decisions do you think?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 11:55:31 PM by HDL_CinC_Dragon »
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2007, 02:47:39 AM »
Which PIC programmer do you use? i don't think an Atmega programmer can do both... at least not the most basic ones.
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Cannot get samples from microchip :(
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2007, 12:53:21 PM »
doh >_<

Yeah I only have the Atmel AVR 3x2header programmer... im sure it wouldnt be TOO hard to make one for the other PICs though right?
BTW, I havnt asked for my samples yet. I havnt even gotten the confirmation email yet... maybe they dont like me lol
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list