Author Topic: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?  (Read 2430 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« on: October 02, 2007, 09:09:23 PM »
Can radio receivers be found in rc cars?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2007, 09:56:45 PM »
Umm, yeah thats what makes them Remote control  :P

Its a crystal with a circuit that controls two motors directly . They are DC motors not servos!  Its very easy to hack. Just disconnect the wires from those motors and connect to an H bridge, relays, or your own motors.

Going to sleep  ;D
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2007, 09:11:44 PM »
Hey I have two hs-311 servos, an old 49 mhz transmitter from an old rc car. I need a receiver to make it work, but there is no 49 mhz ones so can I change the frequency of the transmitter?

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2007, 07:09:19 AM »
the frequency of the transmitter is controlled by the crystal.  Here is an ebay listing for them... http://cgi.ebay.com/27-000-MHZ-Crystal-Resonators-HC-49-U-100pcs_W0QQitemZ290165368487QQihZ019QQcategoryZ7286QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2007, 08:01:52 AM »
You mentioned you made the $50 robot right? That means you already have a microcontroller . . .

Go here:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/remote_control_robot.shtml#components

and scroll down to where it says 'Optional: Teleoperation'

Attach your 49 mhz receiver from the old car to an analog port on your microcontroller using the given schematic. Then program your microcontroller to change servo commands depending on the different analog levels.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2007, 03:19:14 PM »
Attach your 49 mhz receiver from the old car to an analog port on your microcontroller using the given schematic
I need a receiver to make it work

Perhaps admin overlooked a small detail? :P
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2007, 06:15:31 PM »
Ok there's no receiver box in the car(at least I think not) All I found was 2 motors (one for speed, other for turning), and a complicated electrical circuit square thingy which had a lot of resistors and capacitors. Is that the receiver?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2007, 07:59:47 PM »
Quote
and a complicated electrical circuit square thingy which had a lot of resistors and capacitors. Is that the receiver?
yes. ;D

power it up properly, and use the remote control. use a multimeter on the reciever to find what pins would be good to attach to the ADC of your microcontroller.

Offline garriwilsonTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Radio Receivers in RC Cars?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2007, 08:02:20 PM »
I have no idea how to do that! If you don't know I am a noob even though I made the 50$ robot.   :P
Oh and I kinda ripped SOME of the wires. If I post some pics would you guys be able to help me?

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list