Author Topic: speed controler  (Read 3074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
speed controler
« on: October 21, 2007, 04:26:12 PM »
i am looking to get a speed controler that runs 2 or 4 5 volt gear boxes from
http://www.pololu.com/products/solbot/0187/
but a also want a differential drive any ideas
« Last Edit: October 21, 2007, 04:33:21 PM by cooldog »
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: speed controler
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2007, 04:56:41 PM »
Not quite sure what you are asking for... Pololu makes great inexpensive motor controllers that would work perfect with GM8's... check out http://www.pololu.com/products/pololu/0410/

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2007, 04:59:43 PM »
does that give me indiferential drive as well as forward and backwards on two dc motors?
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2007, 05:47:46 PM »
can i have forward, backwards, and differential dirve for left & right useing the motors from before without a speed controler
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: speed controler
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2007, 07:05:32 PM »
Yes, but you need a driver for each motor. Some drivers, such as at dimensionengineering.com, are dual.

Also try servocity.com and look for ESC.

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: speed controler
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2007, 07:12:50 PM »
The Pololu Dual Serial Motor Controller enables independent control of speed and direction for each of two motors.  That is, at the same time, you can run the left motor clockwise at one speed and the right one counterclockwise at a different speed.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2007, 07:20:51 PM »
the pololu contoler is it as simple as pluging it to my reciver and pluging in my motor or is it more complicated and how does it hook to the motor. can i hook any dc motor to it of the right voltage
« Last Edit: October 21, 2007, 07:22:12 PM by cooldog »
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: speed controler
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2007, 07:25:03 PM »
Read the manual! :P
(I mean, we don't memorize product specs . . .)

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2007, 07:26:59 PM »
thanks
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2007, 10:03:21 AM »
ok thanks ;D ;D

now i am looking for 2 motor controllers cheap that can run a 12v motor
 :o
i don't need speed control 8)

i am on a buget ???
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: speed controler
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2007, 10:28:20 AM »
How many amps would your motors draw?

Perhaps a L298 is what you want?

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2007, 11:02:54 AM »
how do i test amps

also it has to plug into my reciver ( i am making a r/c robot ) with no microcontroller
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: speed controler
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2007, 11:04:56 AM »
Use a multimeter or power supply that measures current :P

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: speed controler
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2007, 11:08:09 AM »
my clap on amp meter doesn't seem to give me a readng in DC ( it won't returne to 0 ) ( according to it there are 40 amps going through my finger )
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: speed controler
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2007, 11:45:36 AM »
my clap on amp meter doesn't seem to give me a readng in DC ( it won't returne to 0 ) ( according to it there are 40 amps going through my finger )


Well , if its 40 amps at 120V i think you should see a doctor ,lol    ;D  no just kidding , you'd be dead by now


Perhaps its time to invest in a new multimeter ?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: speed controler
« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2007, 12:38:41 PM »
lol . . .

I believe you have a clamp on amp meter, which uses magnetic fields to measure the current on dangerous high powered wiring. I suspect its just measuring noise . . . or you are Magneto from X-men . . .

Go to radioshack and buy a $15 multimeter :P

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list