go_away

Author Topic: Robot Control - (edited title)  (Read 2812 times)

Offline jabberwockyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Robot Control - (edited title)
« on: October 22, 2007, 01:01:23 PM »
I'm new to this, so forgive me.

My plans for my 'soon-to-be' robot's brains are this.  I plan to port a version of Linux to my Palm Zire 72 and attach it to my robot.

This PDA in turn, once programmed, control both sensors and motors/servos on the robot.

Ok, now i admit that will be a challenge.  The PDA+linux shouldn't be too much an issue, i've found tutorials online for this.  The part i need help with mostly, is the bit inbetween the PDA and the sensors and motors.

Would an I/O board work for this? and if so, has anyone operated both sensors and motors at the same time, through a usb connection?

Sorry if this is confusing, like i say, i'm new! (but always willing to learn)

The Jabberwocky

EDIT: If this whole thing works, it will be sweet as the PDA has Bluetooth, as does my laptop.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2007, 08:41:27 AM by jabberwocky »
If Vegetarians eat vegetables, what do humanitarians eat?

Offline JesseWelling

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: Linux PDA - USB - Robot Control
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2007, 11:55:28 PM »
it all kind of depends on what I/O is brought out by the palm. Can it Host USB? Does it have Serial? I doubt it has any A2D or GPIO being a consumer device. The best bet is to hunt around the tutorials you've found and see what kind of I/O you can do.

• Helpful? 0
Re: Linux PDA - USB - Robot Control
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2007, 08:34:43 AM »
Looking back, i think i totally confused my post.

Does it make more sense for me to ask help for the following?