go_away

Author Topic: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car  (Read 5639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« on: December 04, 2007, 04:08:11 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm new here and new to all this. I have a project to build a robotic arm and it has to be on a car like thing. I'm planning to use a remote controller to make it easier.. But i need some help. I've bought some servers a transmitter and receiver. I just need help on building. Thanks  ;D

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2007, 04:16:25 PM »
okay first things first how many servos do you have and how many channels on your receiver.

next for the RC car part go out and buy a cheap RC car and use it as the base.

then you can use the servos for your robotic arm.

also how many degrees of movement do you want ( base, wrist, elbow )

then look at this page
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_arm_calculator.shtml

it calculates the force needed to make the arm move.

PS. what is your budget
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2007, 04:19:07 PM »
First, Thanks for the quick reply  :D.
I have 6 servos and I'm not sure how many channels are on my transmitter.. I think it only has 1... not that sure because I bought from eBay. But i have 3 receivers and 2 have 4 channels and the other has only 1.
Also, how do i know what kind of RC car to buy?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2007, 04:20:02 PM by TheDude89 »

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2007, 05:03:28 PM »
you will probably only need 1 4ch receiver and 4 servos.

for the RC car if you buy it you will probably use it as is only take off the flashy casing. so you don't need to mod the chasi. which car is up to you do you want more torque or more speed.

also how much was all the receiver and servos on ebay.
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2007, 06:40:31 PM »
All together with 6 servos 3 receivers and a transmitter it was $20.00 + S+H

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2007, 07:15:32 PM »
Hello again, I'm still brand new with robotics and i need help choosing a microcontroller. Something, that is user friendly (if any). If your wondering what I'm going to do.. I'm trying to create a teleoperation from http://www.societyofrobots.com/remote_control_robot.shtml.
Thanks  ;D

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2007, 05:15:16 AM »
wow that great

(if they work)
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2007, 06:45:39 AM »
what will your chassis be controlled by, a second transmitter???


Can you please provide the link to your ebay bid ( so we  can see the details bout it)
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2007, 10:21:55 AM »
You can't beat PICAXE for price and ease of use! 

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2007, 11:12:33 AM »
he should just use the transmitter that comes with the car
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2007, 02:54:09 PM »
Quote
Also, how do i know what kind of RC car to buy
Get a good quality one. The cheap ones aren't designed to last very long, and have very poor torque.

If its between $50-$150, its probably good, but research it anyway for how much it can carry/torque/etc.

You probably want an RC truck so it has enough room to mount your robot arm and additional electronics. If you can mount a platform on it, even better.

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2007, 03:04:54 PM »
I'm planning to hook up the receiver to a microcontroller to control the chassis. Also the link is http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEBTOX:IT&item=110196037046&_trksid=p3984.cTODAY.m238.lVI

Another question.. what kind of microcontroller should I get?

Thanks for all the help!  ;D

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2007, 03:13:00 PM »
okay i thought you wanted to make an rc

so for the chasi just make the $50 robot with a new chasi
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2007, 03:34:58 PM »
Ok, but I dont want an automated robot.. Is there a way to hook that up to a transmitter?

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2007, 03:36:55 PM »
then why do you want a microcontroller
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2007, 04:00:09 PM »
if you're going to be controlling it, you're not gonna need a microcontroller

servo's connect straight to receiver
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2007, 04:09:59 PM »
fyi all, TheDude89 wants something teleoperational, meaning he sends the robot upper level commands.

For example, he tells the arm to reach at coordinates x, y, z, and then the arm figures out all the joint angles automatically with the microcontroller. He doesn't want to control each individual joint - too much effort!

I don't endorse any microcontrollers out there because I have complaints for each . . . however, check this post out (its been asked a million times already):
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=2524.0

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2007, 04:33:57 PM »
Yeah thanks for the clarification. 

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2007, 04:44:50 PM »
I really don't know what I am doing and I really need help.. I don't want to buy the wrong microcontroller.. As said above I want something teleoperational. Thanks! Sorry, I don't know much about this stuff  :'(.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2007, 03:24:24 PM by TheDude89 »

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Need a microcontroller for a teleopertional!
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2007, 03:54:26 PM »
Like the title says  ;D I need a microcontroller! I don't have any opinions on any of them.. I just want it to do the job! So please if you know of any beginner microcontrollers that can do what i need post below!Also, I'm new to this so I may need some help on programming, programs to program, etc. Thanks ;D


Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: Need a microcontroller for a teleopertional!
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2007, 04:04:59 PM »
the atmega8 from the $50 robot tutorial seems pretty simply
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Need a microcontroller for a teleopertional!
« Reply #21 on: December 07, 2007, 04:16:57 PM »
Do you know how to program a teleopertaional or where i can learn?

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Need a microcontroller for a teleopertional!
« Reply #22 on: December 07, 2007, 05:42:37 PM »
You will need more than a microcontroller to make a teleoperational robot... you will need vision capability so you can see what your robot is doing... check out roborealm.com and their tutorials

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #23 on: December 07, 2007, 11:36:04 PM »
Hmm.. But, why would I need to see my robot?

Also, I have purchased a ATMega168 microcontroller
« Last Edit: December 07, 2007, 11:37:28 PM by TheDude89 »

Offline maverick monk

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2007, 10:00:03 AM »
I'm planning to hook up the receiver to a microcontroller to control the chassis. Also the link is http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEBTOX:IT&item=110196037046&_trksid=p3984.cTODAY.m238.lVI

Another question.. what kind of microcontroller should I get?

Thanks for all the help!  ;D


omg, that thing is like 20 years old  :o

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2007, 03:24:58 PM »
Lol, it still works though  :P

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #26 on: December 11, 2007, 09:08:35 PM »
Any tips on how i can program a teleoperational?

Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #27 on: December 12, 2007, 09:31:24 AM »
teleoperational means you'll have a camera on your robot, and you'll be able to control it from somewhere else (behind your PC)
Since you say you don't need a camera, you mean RC, not teleoperational. (RC= Remote controlled, RC is like all other toys...)

That's why others were confused a bit.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #28 on: December 12, 2007, 11:25:06 AM »
not exactly, Rebelgium.

There are three levels of control:
1) RC
2) Teleop (semi-autonomous)
3) Fully Autonomous

Teleoperational means that it is partly RC, and partly autonomous.

For example, think of a robot hexapod. There ain't no way in robots heaven you can control 6 legs (~18 joints) with a dual joystick RC controller. So teleop takes that directional control from the RC remote and converts it into the proper leg kinematics, requiring a microcontroller in between. You can have a camera on any level of robot control, but its most useful on RC.

I'm under the assumption TheDude89 wants to teleop the arm of the robot, right? Or just RC?

Offline TheDude89Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: need help with a simple Robotic Arm on a RC car
« Reply #29 on: December 12, 2007, 07:18:33 PM »
Just the RC, and thanks for the clarification again  ;D

Omg.. The "microcontroller" i ordered turned out to be a microchip  >:(

I ordered an Arduino, and im trying to firgure out how to make create a teleoperational for the chassis.. any tips?

Thanks  ;D
« Last Edit: December 15, 2007, 12:42:48 PM by TheDude89 »

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list