go_away

Author Topic: ponyprog problem  (Read 4366 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline playabarz187Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
ponyprog problem
« on: December 19, 2007, 08:16:22 PM »
Ok completely new to building robots (the 50 dollor robot is the first one) My problem is that ponyprog starts to write the program and then verifys it and then when its at 100% it freezes for about a 1min. Then says error writing! pleaz help if anyone has dealt with this


admin edit: I renamed the subject line to better reflect the question
« Last Edit: December 19, 2007, 08:20:14 PM by Admin »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Help please
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2007, 08:19:34 PM »
odd . . . Im not sure how to debug this . . .

Does the microcontroller work even though it gets an error?

It appears to be detecting the ATmega8, but not actually programming it . . . check battery voltage and wiring. There is also a chance that your ATmega8 is somehow damaged, too . . .

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: ponyprog problem
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2007, 08:28:50 PM »
are you running vista?

I had a sort of similar problem , that it wouldn't write to a PIC connected to serial port . I had to change some settings on the computer

it most likely is what Admin suggested,    are you sure the ATmega is connected properly?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline playabarz187Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ponyprog problem
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 07:56:43 AM »
The microcontroller does not work , and yes i am running Vista on a HP Dual Core system what did you do to fix the problem??
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 09:37:30 AM by playabarz187 »

Offline ddemarco5

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ponyprog problem
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2008, 07:47:37 PM »
regarding earlier posts, I bought the programmable owl robot, which uses the Atmega8 as well, and ponyprong says it cannot verify device type, I click ignore, and after awhile does what he said it does.

Offline GUmeR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ponyprog problem
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2008, 07:47:58 AM »
Try to run Pony Prog as administrator. I assume You did calibration and test in Pony Prog options. Are Fuse bits set correctly (e.g clock source)? If you are programming through LPT port, try changing port options in BIOS. I had to change port mode in BIOS, but don't remember exact options. I was using Pony Prog with STK200/300 throug LPT on Vista and it was working perfectly.

Offline bootstrap

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ponyprog problem
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2008, 11:56:46 PM »
first check for the setti of the mocrcontroller family and the set it to exact micro controller that you are using.The n also run callibration and set up.In "set up" set the respective port and its correspoding setting that you are using.

 


Get Your Ad Here