Author Topic: ATMega Control Board?  (Read 3552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
ATMega Control Board?
« on: January 08, 2008, 04:45:23 AM »
 Hi everybody!

I am brand new to robotics and haven't the faintest clue about much anything electrical. I have been searching the internet for a good control board to get me started with autonomous robots and found this one:

http://www.futurlec.com/ATMegaControlBoard.shtml

Has anyone used it or formed an opinion about it?

Do you think it would be suitable for a complete beginner?

Thanks in advance.

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 03:27:10 PM »
at the top of teh page there is a link called robot tutorials. read anything you find form there.

http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/study.htm
is also a great site
read everythign there too
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2008, 06:37:18 PM »
Thank you for the links, they look very informative and i think i will be reading for a while. But does anybody know anything about the board?

Actually. Come to think of it, does anybody know of any good controller boards to start off with? I have looked at the Arduino however i would prefer something i could just plug my actuators/sensors into directly.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2008, 12:25:43 AM by Bubbles »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2008, 11:29:48 PM »
well . . . I don't like that fact that it doesn't have a power bus . . . but its really cheap for what you get . . .

For beginner boards, you want code done for you. If you can find sample code for it, you should be ok.

I like ATmega in general . . .

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2008, 12:09:31 AM »
well . . . I don't like that fact that it doesn't have a power bus . . . but its really cheap for what you get . . .

what do you mean? what is a power bus? i was under the impression that they were the pins you use to plug actuators/sensors into without having to remove the plugs they come in.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2008, 08:02:24 AM »
You need three pins to plug something in - power, ground, and signal.

A power bus has power and ground.

But it doesnt have a power bus, just a signal pin, meaning you have to make your own power bus to use it. :(

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2008, 11:04:35 AM »
i couldn't find the price.

but why not just build the $50 robot circut and have it work with a different micro controller
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2008, 06:36:01 PM »
i couldn't find the price.

but why not just build the $50 robot circut and have it work with a different micro controller

because i could not find either of the required programmers in my country  :'(

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2008, 08:11:04 PM »
heres another link for you
http://rapidshare.com/files/84939931/Wiley_-_Electronics_For_Dummies_-_2005_-__By_Laxxuss_.pdf

you can try to build your own programmer
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: ATMega Control Board?
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2008, 09:00:28 PM »
you could also buy the Arduino http://www.moderndevice.com/diecimila.shtml and it takes no special programmer! ;)
Robots are awesome!

 


Get Your Ad Here