Author Topic: torque  (Read 4300 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
torque
« on: January 09, 2008, 11:30:48 AM »
hey i am new to robotics..can u guys  tell me what exactly the torque specifications means....

#Torque: 1.1 kg.cm at 4.8 V -1.3 kg.cm at 6.0 V (15.27/18.05 oz.in at 4.8/6.0V)

waht do you guys think about hitech micro hs-55 servo motor????
is it good enough to build a obstacle course robot???

Offline Fredrik Andersson

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 01:27:10 PM »
At first, i reacted on the low torque, but then i saw it was a micro servo. So it depends entirely on the rest of the robot. Are you going to build it small? Is it a weeled or legged robot?
Current project: Pirrh - Portable Intelligent Round Rolling Hexapod

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: torque
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 02:06:18 PM »

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2008, 05:53:38 PM »
it is a wheeled robot.
i am designing a robot which can navigate through an obstacle course with decent speed.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: torque
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 05:09:17 PM »
hmm.... it may work but u'd have to put at least 3/4 wheels if its a normal size robot.....like 8-15 cms long but u could probibly get away with 2 if its a small robot like 5-8cms..
anyways good luck buddy  ;D
Howdy

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: torque
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 05:14:06 PM »
if you are building a out door robot go with 4 hs-311 servos it gives you 4 wheel drive exelent torque and desent speed
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2008, 02:49:36 AM »
hey thanks for your all your replies:-)
 can you suggest which servo motor should i use if time is also taken into consideration???
 with good speed!!
 the complete weight of the chasis is 600g ms-700gms
 the dimensions of the chasis is 20x20x20 cms

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: torque
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2008, 06:45:37 AM »
in m y opinion HS-311 is the best rounded servo but there are lots of faster ones
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2008, 10:14:34 AM »
hey how about.4 kg.cm....
but will there be any problem if use  a servo which has high torque???

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
servo motor...
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2008, 01:35:16 PM »
is it good to desgin wheeled robot with ..
                            2 POWERED SERVO MOTORS????
                                   
                                               or
 
                            4 POWERED SERVO MOTORS??

1.the weight of the robot is nearly 1000gms.
2.speed is a criteria.
3.the toque of the motor is 4 kg.cm
4.the terrain is flat


       

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: servo motor...
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2008, 02:07:05 PM »
if you know a bit more about electronics than the average noob....you should be able to go four wheel...me i go two...anyway why dont you like add up the positive and negative of each the decide which one is better ;D
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: torque
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2008, 02:21:29 PM »
again, you should calculate how much torque you need. 8)

otherwise it's all guesswork . . .

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: torque
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2008, 03:11:42 PM »
is the terrain indoors or out

outdoors
4 wheel drive with good wheels

indoors
2 wheel drive with racing tires
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline siddharthm87Topic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2008, 10:46:38 AM »
hey,

  the exact speed of the robot is not a problem.
  so is it ok to use high torque dc motors instead of servo motors???

  for example...if we detect an obstacle using sensor we can inform the dc mtors to slow down and the feedback     isn't necessary because the bot is any way slowing down.right??

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: torque
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2008, 10:57:03 AM »
you could do that. using servo's is easier though. output a pwm and you're done.

with motors you need a h-bridge or drivers.  programming could be easier or harder. depends on what you use
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2008, 11:30:12 AM »
yeah.....have two h-bridges and drivers on my board!

the robot i am going to design will have 2 powered wheels!!

now.....

1.if i use dc motors will the controlling of the robot be ok???
2.what about using stepper motor??
view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: torque
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2008, 01:55:57 PM »
yeah.....have two h-bridges and drivers on my board!

the robot i am going to design will have 2 powered wheels!!

now.....

1.if i use dc motors will the controlling of the robot be ok???
2.what about using stepper motor??
all depends on how good you rpgramm it

stepper motors could be used, but you'dd need a special motor driver for it
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2008, 05:42:10 AM »
this is how i am going to design it....

two dc motors at the back will drive the  whelled robot and a servo motor will be used to turn the direction of the robot...will that be ok???

view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: torque
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2008, 07:06:50 AM »
why not just do differential drive? (like a tank )

why do you want steering like in a car?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #19 on: January 14, 2008, 07:31:35 AM »
hey there are lot of obstacles in b/n ...so it is very imp to have precise and good steering!
this is my thinking.

this is what the event looks like

           www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com



       
view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2008, 07:35:25 AM »
i am using pic microcontroller 18f4550.

i am still a rookie in robotics..so it is taking a bit of time understanding things.
but i guess i will catch up with things
view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: torque
« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2008, 07:43:49 AM »
do differential drive , have two motorized wheels and a caster
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #22 on: January 14, 2008, 08:53:43 AM »
hey there are lot of obstacles in b/n ...so it is very imp to have precise and good steering!
this is my thinking.

this is what the event looks like

           www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

  but using differential drive will slow it a bit right????

 
view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: torque
« Reply #23 on: January 14, 2008, 09:53:17 AM »
no it wont really slow it down
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline junior000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2008, 02:59:05 AM »
one last question....

if you have to choose b/n dc or servo's which one would u choose???(take speed into consideration)
view my tutorials at


www.myfirstbot.blogspot.com

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: torque
« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2008, 03:41:11 AM »
if b/n means before i would say dc motors (theyre what i normally use) if its torque you need. ive never used a servo before but heard theyre good....anyways see what everyone else says...

~smash ;D
Howdy

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: torque
« Reply #26 on: January 17, 2008, 12:01:31 AM »
personally i would use servos as they already have their own gearing systems built in and can get pretty good speed/torque (not to mention they are waaaay easier than using motors, and less expensive)  ;D

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list