go_away

Author Topic: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29  (Read 2698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« on: January 09, 2008, 11:46:19 AM »
I was browsing around and ran into some nice GPS modules that can connect directly to your UART.
The cheapest one at $29 claims 3m accuracy CEP.

search mouser for V23993


general info:
http://www.tycoelectronics.com/gps/pdf/A1037-A.pdf

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 03:02:46 PM »
looks alot like what i did, but you'd still need the software and $30 in part
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Half Shell

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • Helpful? 0
Re: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 02:15:09 PM »
Would I be able to wire that to USB so I can interface it with Microsoft Streets and Maps? (Asking for a friend. I think he wants me to integrate this into his EEE pc).

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 02:48:07 PM »
you'll need a ttl->232 converter board

this is what i used
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=718

remember tx connects to rx and vice versa
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Half Shell

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • Helpful? 0
Re: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 02:50:09 PM »
That seems pretty simple. I'm thinking about buying one myself for a future robotics project.

So ed1380, you say you used a similar one? Do I need to make an attenae or do anything special, or merely buying this GPS unit and then wiring it to my micro controller will get it to work (albeit with some programming).

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GPS with 3m accuracy for $29
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 02:56:11 PM »
you need an antenna. just be careful to match up the plug types.
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/categories.php?cPath=4_18

also that converter i linked to requires a usb mini cable.

heres my thread about it.
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=2429.0
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

 


Get Your Ad Here