go_away

Author Topic: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?  (Read 2529 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« on: January 15, 2008, 12:30:31 AM »
lol ok im trying to add video survalence to my robot....i want to add memory to a webcam is there a way to do this? (i cant afford to get a small tv for live surveylance) or can i control it with my computer?
please help me...

~smash
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 06:18:35 AM »
just connect the USB webcamera to a PC , lol


or get one of those wireless USB hubs


or just get a regular wireless camera
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2008, 03:41:31 PM »
hmm...first wont i need a really long cable?

how much are wireless usb hubs?
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2008, 04:39:26 PM »
they are around 200 bucks   :o
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2008, 04:53:18 PM »
in that case... no i might try and control via computer and ideas people...i can have cord tho
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2008, 04:58:28 PM »
you want to control the robot from your computer too???
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2008, 02:09:12 PM »
no but i want a display....oh well ill make the robot then worry about the camera if there will be one.


~smash
Howdy

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2008, 02:42:13 PM »
would RoboRealm be of any help?  www.roborealm.com

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2008, 02:44:20 PM »
hmm...well ill download it and thanks for future reference ;D
Howdy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2008, 08:19:30 PM »
get one of those $50 small wireless cameras. connect it to teh pc and have it recorded
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2008, 08:22:08 PM »
hmm...wireless :-\ i might shop around for a cheap one... thanks for the info


~smash
Howdy

Offline DAR748

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2008, 11:56:38 PM »
Get 1 of those x10 cameras
Or something like them. Fleabay would be the first place to start.
You can also find the transmitters on ebay pretty cheap.
Like this for $25 http://cgi.ebay.com/X10-Camera-Audio-Video-Receiver-X-10-VR31A_W0QQitemZ330203374484QQihZ014QQcategoryZ115946QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
I searched for "wireless camera" & found lots for under $50 with camera & everything you need.

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: is it possible to create memory with a webcam?
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2008, 12:33:23 AM »
hmm...thanks a lot ill take a look at them.

~smash
Howdy

 


Get Your Ad Here