Author Topic: Prototyping for surface mount parts?  (Read 1988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DelTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
  • Helpful? 0
Prototyping for surface mount parts?
« on: January 17, 2008, 02:06:27 PM »
Does anybody know if there is anything like the following for surface mount parts:





I know that one can use something like the following to convert surface mount parts to DIP size:



But I'm wondering if one can take advantage of the space-saving aspect of surface mount
parts when doing prototyping.  (Also, some parts don't come in DIP sizes.)

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 12:20:05 PM by Del »

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Prototyping for surface mount parts?
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2008, 06:26:25 PM »
So a local electronic musical/sound instrument equipment manufacturer that i freelance for when they have a new product idea doesnt. All we do is design the circuits etc... in through hole development boards and do the programming and such to get the new product working - its usually about 4 or 5 times bigger(at least) than the final product. Once it is deemed satisfactory, it then goes to the prototyping stage where more than 1 board type and size is produced (by sending the component list and schematic to an outside company and receiving working boards back) Also more than 1 case size and shape and colour is produced. The boards and cases are all put together and programmed etc... to produce maybe 8 or 9 different working designs, these are then evaluated by the powers that be and the chosen model (if any) goes into full production.

The moral is that unless you have the ability to create your own boards and reflow them, you cant realistcally prototype smc's. You need to send your schematic away and pay for it to be made. A lot of it is due to the fact that industry doesnt surface mount onto development boards unless necessarry since it is a lot more prone to error, and in this type of field most things are geared towards creating things that industry wants (thats where the money is)

Offline DelTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Prototyping for surface mount parts?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 12:19:39 PM »
check out http://www.schmartboard.com/index.asp?page=products


Hi Steve,

I had already looked at SchmartBoard, but I felt that $10 for
one small board seemed a little too expensive.
(Considering that a DIP protoboard of similar size is about $1-$2.)

Maybe I should rephrase the question:

Does anyone have any "cheap tricks" for using surface mount parts?

Thanks again

Offline DelTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Prototyping for surface mount parts?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2008, 12:24:37 PM »
The moral is that unless you have the ability to create your own boards and reflow them, you cant realistcally prototype smc's.

That's too bad :'(

What will amateurs and hobbyists do when DIP's have been phased out?
(Already some parts are hard to find in DIP size, or don't even exist as DIP's.)


Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Prototyping for surface mount parts?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2008, 12:41:02 PM »
"cheap trick "

solder on wires and hotlgue the sides of the surface mounted part   ;)

well it depends on the size of the surface mount part , like the L293D I bend and solder the legs down to a DIP socket.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list