go_away

Author Topic: Can i use this as a range finder?  (Read 2609 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Can i use this as a range finder?
« on: January 18, 2008, 04:26:04 AM »
I have been looking for things i can use as obstacle avoidance in Australia (which is quite hard as Aus kinda sucks in this department) and i found this here:

http://jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=AU5550&CATID=&keywords=ultra+sonic&SPECIAL=&form=KEYWORD&ProdCodeOnly=&Keyword1=&Keyword2=&pageNumber=&priceMin=&priceMax=&SUBCATID=

can i hook this up to a microcontroller and use it to detect objects?

will it be able to give me the distance to the object?

if not, does anybody know where in Australia i can get such a thing?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 04:38:57 AM »
hmm i might recomment ebay or futurlec.com as for the one at jaycar i dont really know....but have you considered photocells? and for the microcontroller forget me...wait till someone smart posts :P
Howdy

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 04:44:09 AM »
I think this is just a basic ultrasonic speaker/mic, with no other built in electronics.

If it is, you will have to program your MCu to create the sonic burst and then listen for it to see how long it takes to return. This is pretty processor intensive and quite difficult to implement, since it requires very strict timing.

 I would suggest looking for a Sharp IR or a Devantech SRF04 Sonar instead. These are much more user friendly and less code is required to implement it.

Check this out - http://au.farnell.com/jsp/search/productdetail.jsp?sku=4142949
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 04:51:35 AM »
1.omg thats expensive. i thought they were like $15
2.the shipping costs would be too much like $10-$15
so yea. we both know how hard it is ey bubbles?
Howdy

Offline BubblesTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2008, 06:33:54 AM »
1.omg thats expensive. i thought they were like $15
2.the shipping costs would be too much like $10-$15
so yea. we both know how hard it is ey bubbles?

yeah

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2008, 09:22:06 AM »
woops i didnt see the price on that one  :o

I think if you search hard enough you'll find one reasonable.

What is shipping from Japan like in australia?
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2008, 09:35:22 PM »
depends on size....if its like photocell size for one it can vary around $5-15 and its for a freakin photocell....well i just got all the things i need for the $40 robot from futurlec.com for about $22.00 and $4 postage! now thats no rip off.       huh?


~smash
Howdy

Offline Steel_monkey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2008, 09:34:18 AM »
To put some valuable input, I attach schematicks found in net (sorry, I haven`t saved credits to sites). Schematics are mostly not very hard, but not simple also, the only real problem is transiever power supply- voltage should be as big as possible, but it is too complicated to have 5 and 9 Volts batteries on one robot same time.

Offline blackheart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2009, 06:30:53 AM »
I found sharp IR's and PIC's and Servos and Ping's in Romania(my country) which is probably the shittiest pace you would want to be in. And nobody gives a damn about robotics in here.

There must be an electronics store in there. Or search online.
I'm out of ideas!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Can i use this as a range finder?
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2009, 01:41:42 PM »
umm, date of last post much?
Howdy

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list