Author Topic: Just a friendly reminder  (Read 4803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Just a friendly reminder
« on: January 19, 2008, 10:02:53 PM »
OK heres just a tip / reminder for all you guys on the forum.

Back up all your source code and important info you don't want to be deleted to a DVD or flash drive or a file storage place online

I just crashed Chives after tweaking the something BUT  I was smart enough to backup everything on Chives before I tweak anything , so I have backups of every version of Chive's program. OK so after the crash I almost panicked and then I realized, hey i have backups! So I added the program again and got everything to run again in under 10 minutes , just uploaded the software and all done.

SO GET OFF YOUR BUTT AND GO BACK UP ALL YOUR SOURCE CODE AND DOCUMENTS TO SECURE STORAGE AREAS ( flash drive is what I use)

Hopefull I'll save some of you guys before its too late  ;)
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline GUmeR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 06:24:55 PM »
I wasn't so smart. About half a year back I lost over month of work :(

MAKE BACKUPS !!!!

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 10:35:19 PM »
i have a tip too, i made shell scripts to copy all my important stuff into another folder, you can also do the same but with batch files in windows, just a series of "cp here to_there" commands, this way you can just run the file for instant backups, or schedule it

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 10:40:11 PM »
I like the batch idea because I know how to write them :P I dont know how to write shell scripts :-\... yet :)
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2008, 10:43:13 PM »
almost the same, except you must have "#!/bin/sh" on the first line and the file must have permission to be executed

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2008, 10:49:12 AM »
really? Care to send me some sample programs to my email that I can study from? Thats how I learn best. Take something that works and tweak it and see what happens :P
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2008, 10:56:47 AM »
I dont usually bother with backups and stuff, Ive only ever had 1 difficult time with an os not booting, but the data is still on the drive even if you cant get to it with your operating systems there are other ways of getting at it. Also ive taken with having most of my data on flash drives so i can use it on multiple pc's easily

The only things that i back up is web stuff which you should take your own responsibility for (even if the hosts are aupposed to back it up). I remember once an entire images directory going missing but everything else was intact, i presumed that they had to restore the site but the directory went missing from their backup. Luckily i had already done it.

Offline GUmeR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2008, 02:17:29 PM »
In my case HD is completely unusable. First windows started to work slowly. After a while I restarted it twice. Third time i got "Operating System not found." Drive isn’t detected by BIOS anymore. Everything happened in less than an hour.

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2008, 02:46:47 PM »
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/Documents/" "/media/sda3/backups/"
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/eagle/" "/media/sda3/backups/"
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/Desktop/" "/media/sda3/backups/"
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/.wtf/" "/media/sda3/backups/"
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/.mozilla/firefox/pvwhp7lk.default" "/media/sda3/backups/firefox_profile/"
sudo cp -f -u -r -v "/home/frank/.mozilla-thunderbird" "/media/sda3/backups/thunderbird_profile/"

save that into a empty file, set permission to execute, and then execute it or link an launcher to it.

destination folders must exist.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2008, 04:12:13 PM »
what file type must I save it as? .bat?
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2008, 04:25:54 PM »
A single backup is NOT good enough.

When I was about 8 years old I accidently overwrote this huge game I was programming on my Tandy. I was smart enough to have a backup, but on that particular day I decided to overwrite it with my newest program code.

Stupid me didn't realize that the newest update was broken!

Yeap, I just overwrote my backup with a bad copy . . .

But I was a pretty smart 8 year old . . . I had a secondary backup! bite you, Murphy! hehe. Unfortunately, that secondary backup was a month old and missing tons of code . . . :'(

However a secondary backup still isn't good enough . . . I lived in louisiana and there was a flood in '93 that destroyed a lot of my stuff. So to my next point . . . put your backups OUTSIDE your home and in another location. A bank safety deposit box, your work office, a friends house, etc.

What if your house has a fire and your computer and everything in the house is destroyed? Exactly.

Backups I have for SoR:
online ftp
my laptop
my external harddrive
an off site cd in my office

And for my robot code, I even backup older versions of my code, dated and all . . . just in case . . . and its saved me several times too.

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2008, 05:32:23 PM »
Quote
what file type must I save it as? .bat?
nope. that snippet is for running on some flavour of Unix not windows.
you wouldn't need to give it any particular filename extension but you would need to mark it as an executable file.

dunk.

Offline justsomeguy

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2008, 07:03:44 PM »
online backups are good, a number of companies offer quite cheap online backup systems. most are automatic, of course the best thing for backing up your code is a good source control system... or even a bad one, going back to old code saves all of that commenting out 'just in case'

one little trick on a knacked hard drive that sometimes works, is find a usb-ide cable and put the drive on a bed of ice,(ice in a bag of course) this can sometimes give you a few extra minutes to find that data you were sure you had backed up...you just can't find right now ;-)
 
Dave,

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2008, 09:21:14 PM »
what file type must I save it as? .bat?

you realize i run linux, right? hence why i use shell scripts and you use batch files.

it should be almost the same (i don't know about the switches/arguments), get rid of the first line and also delete all the "sudo"

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2008, 11:54:02 AM »
Ι do also back up my files in my external hard disk but I also make and a DVD per year or so to be sure...
Most if not all of the stuff is on the internet so I do not worry much but I remember losing almost a years work when my previous hard disk auto erased (yep it was problematic but I got a new better one as insurance cover!!! hahaha)

And one year's work lost is not nice... just not nice... believe me!!!
Now my PC is my second hand and despite being a gamer I do need a good PC for Autocad, Sketch_up and now LightWave!!!

And believe me visual modelling is very hard.... so I better backup more offen but who has the time anyway?!?!?!
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2008, 05:48:51 PM »
Time is for noobs :P

Im a gamer as well and have spent quite a pretty dollar on my computer to build (If your curious to the specs of it, shoot me a message) but I also use it for programming and SketchUp and such. Im not familiar with LightWave though. What is it?

And I dont really back up anything... cuz im just that smart... I prolly should huh? Ive got 2 internal HDDs, both are SATA drives. Ones a 300GB and ones an 80GB. Im gunna back up my important stuff :)
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2008, 06:12:33 PM »
 i guess we now have 3 gamers.  8)

i do solidworks and some media editing

160gb total.  :'(
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2008, 07:19:14 AM »
Lightwave is program for making video add motion in videos effects and other... But I resently got it and I don't know anything so google to see!!!

And a littlt off topic...
I'm going to buy a new PC... a really heavy one and I'm thinking of
Core2 Duo E6750
Asus P5K Prenium
2X   Asus HD3870
and 4G RAM

What is your opinion???
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2008, 11:25:22 AM »
Depending on what you plan to do with said machine, I think you should go with only 2Gbs because having 4 gigs when you only need like 1.5Gb max can slow your computer down rather than speed it up.
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2008, 04:59:47 PM »
4gb is good, especially if youre going to be video editing. but beware that 32bit OS only can use 3.5gb

only disadvantage w/ 4gb ram is that it might not OC as good
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #20 on: February 02, 2008, 12:10:04 AM »
ok then get 3.5GB ram ;D lol. and there i was thinking the more ram the better :-[. thx for the tip
Howdy

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #21 on: February 02, 2008, 12:08:02 PM »
Thanks for the answers guys!!!


4gb is good, especially if youre going to be video editing. but beware that 32bit OS only can use 3.5gb

only disadvantage w/ 4gb ram is that it might not OC as good


I read 4G is the max for OS32 and 128G for OS64...

But is 64 better that 32 or worse... Surely 64bit can eat up the memory fairly more quickly... And before buying I want to hear some opinions...
Also I heard Asus P5K has some problems with SATA2.... is that true???

Sorry for the off topic again...

Thanks a lot, Lefteris
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Just a friendly reminder
« Reply #22 on: February 02, 2008, 12:23:03 PM »
www.extremeoverclocking.com

ask on the forum. search around too.

you can put 4gb in a 32bit system. windows just wont use more than 3.5gb

con about 64 bit is finding drivers for some stuff.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list