go_away

Author Topic: can somebody help me with voltage?  (Read 4380 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
can somebody help me with voltage?
« on: January 20, 2008, 02:27:30 AM »
does anybody know what voltage thses are? theyre rechargeables...............
one is of car its from ;D rest of battery!!!! yay


~smash
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 07:21:43 AM »
grab a multimeter and measure the voltage   

or check the charger that came with the battery and see what its charging them with

also ,  my guess is that each of the small yellow batteries are 1.2V
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 11:23:27 AM »
Image quality isnt that great, care to try and take a better picture so we can read what they actually say? :P
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 02:50:27 PM »
they say ni-cad 50mah and sory gameboy got in accidently  :-[
Howdy

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2008, 03:27:33 AM »
I would say that the yellow ones are prob not 1.2v as they look a bit bigger than a single battery, to me it looks like a small pack (like maybe 3.6v or something)

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2008, 12:26:08 PM »
they look like single cell to me.
Robots are awesome!

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2008, 06:20:35 PM »
they look like single cell to me.

not sure where you get your batteries however the single cell ones i normally get look a little more... cylindrical   ;D

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2008, 07:09:58 PM »
err, They are cylindrical...

Anyway being only 50mah theres no point argueing, throw them away smash they arent any use for anything

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2008, 09:13:21 PM »
Paulstreat is right. If you are not planning on using them for a robot they might be useful for something, like for running a computer fan.
Robots are awesome!

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2008, 12:28:50 AM »
speaking of a computer fan..this afternoon i tried to open a computer. and i couldnt! its too freakin hard. my friends dad is giving me a computer for free because he has to pay someone else to take it away...lol
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2008, 07:12:15 AM »
speaking of a computer fan..this afternoon i tried to open a computer. and i couldnt! its too freakin hard. my friends dad is giving me a computer for free because he has to pay someone else to take it away...lol

Its not that hard

However some computers require you to have certain bits , so i would go get a jewelers screwdriver set( i think thats what its called)

Or you could just rip off the case ( if you dont plan on using it for a chassis or something) , take a hammer, a chisel, and a saw.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2008, 03:35:19 PM »
all computer cases are held together by either screws or stuff slides into each other to lock in place.

regular sized screwdriver and some investigating is all you need
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2008, 04:04:33 PM »
yeah it's usually REALLY easy to open a computer. My dad has done it a couple of times to add memory and stuff.
Robots are awesome!

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2008, 04:09:46 PM »
perhaps a tutorial is needed , LMAO , yea all it would be is Step 1: Take a screwdriver and unscrew screws or unlock the slidey stuff

lol  :D
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2008, 04:11:14 PM »
haha ;D
Robots are awesome!

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2008, 05:29:48 PM »
no its got like screws with round heads...lol step one place explosives step two run. ;D lol anyway ill go pick it up...and should i get some screens? anything good in em? lol ill just smash the computer open.


~smash
Howdy

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2008, 06:16:44 PM »
yeah, its more fun that way  :P

i know this is kinda off topic but since you were talkin' about smashin' stuff i recommend smashing the picture tube on a television (psssst, it implodes)  ;D

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2008, 08:00:04 PM »
lol are they also in computer screens?
Howdy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2008, 08:31:31 PM »
yeah. but not the flat ones.

funny how i have a 13" tv in the trashcan right now.  ;D
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2008, 08:37:50 PM »
XD no these are really old comp screens like 2003 ver. like the really basic stuff. not like http://blog.hex.is/helga/corona_laptop.jpg that old. but like http://library.uncw.edu/web/outreach/images/disabilities/computer.jpg is this ok??


~smash
Howdy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2008, 08:40:54 PM »
yeah that's a crt screen.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2008, 08:42:34 PM »
oh ok thx ill post pics of all the crap i get out of it ;D
Howdy

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2008, 08:46:40 PM »
funny how i have a 13" tv in the trashcan right now.  ;D

hey, that IS funny. actually it is illegal to NOT smash the picture tube on a television before letting the garbage truck take it because when it goes in the compressor... IT GOES BANG!!!  ;D

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #23 on: January 24, 2008, 08:50:36 PM »
hahaha who woulda thought ;D
Howdy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #24 on: January 24, 2008, 09:07:23 PM »
funny how i have a 13" tv in the trashcan right now.  ;D


hey, that IS funny. actually it is illegal to NOT smash the picture tube on a television before letting the garbage truck take it because when it goes in the compressor... IT GOES BANG!!!  ;D
o don't worry about that. i just havent gotten to it yet  :D

« Last Edit: January 24, 2008, 09:08:10 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline SmAsHTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #25 on: January 24, 2008, 09:09:38 PM »
hahaha lol ok we'll stop
Howdy

Offline Bubbles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Helpful? 0
Re: can somebody help me with voltage?
« Reply #26 on: January 25, 2008, 01:52:12 AM »
funny how i have a 13" tv in the trashcan right now.  ;D


hey, that IS funny. actually it is illegal to NOT smash the picture tube on a television before letting the garbage truck take it because when it goes in the compressor... IT GOES BANG!!!  ;D
o don't worry about that. i just havent gotten to it yet  :D




i wasn't really worrying, more... encouraging  :P

 


Get Your Ad Here