go_away

Author Topic: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot  (Read 5016 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline E.Man.LavaTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 0
Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« on: January 20, 2008, 03:52:56 PM »
I was building the 50$ robot recently and the servos i bought didnt come with the black boxy things shown in the tutorial.  I solved this by hot glueing the servos to the chassis and then putting tape over the servos.  Are there better methods than that to attach my servos to the chassis?
 

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 05:25:41 PM »
velcro? IDK how strong it would be. good double sided tape will work

or make/buy some servo mounts
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline E.Man.LavaTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 05:27:45 PM »
I thought about that but decided that hot glue and tape might keep the servos in place more effectively  :)

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 08:03:41 PM »
yay finally hot glue gets some recognition!!



~smash
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2008, 08:14:17 PM »
yay finally hot glue gets some recognition!!



~smash

hot glue is terrible for mounting , avoid it

nuts and bolts is the way to go   
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2008, 08:18:24 PM »
Quote
I solved this by hot glueing the servos to the chassis and then putting tape over the servos.
lol soooo ghetto . . .

Quote
double sided tape will work
simplest, fastest, and it will never fail

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2008, 09:12:51 PM »
[quote/]simple fastest and will never fail[quote/] lol it will if you cover it in crap! naa seriosly. with double sided tape doesnt it wear down? like really easilly?
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2008, 09:15:23 PM »
[quote/]simple fastest and will never fail[quote/] lol it will if you cover it in crap! naa seriosly. with double sided tape doesnt it wear down? like really easilly?

not really , well I dont know what double sided tape you are talking about , not the cheap kind , the slightly less cheap kind ,lol
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2008, 09:39:41 PM »
if the servo's are under the robot then the weight of the robot will actually push down on the tape and servo

EDIT- WOOT lol 999 posts
« Last Edit: January 20, 2008, 09:49:07 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2008, 09:46:30 PM »
lol ed has 999 posts!!!
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2008, 04:37:50 PM »
I'm so happy for him I wish I had 999 posts. :'( ;D
Robots are awesome!

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2008, 07:53:48 PM »
you guys don't keep 3/4" aluminum angles handy?!?!

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2008, 08:05:48 PM »
i just bought a 1" x 1" x 8' aluminum angle bar from Lowes and cut it to little sections and drilled holes.   Way more professional!! ;D ;D

bane.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2008, 08:33:05 PM »
you guys don't keep 3/4" aluminum angles handy?!?!


no i just use servocity's universal sensor mounts
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline BANE

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2008, 09:03:01 PM »
or use lynxmotion's EZ mount servo brackets (lighter and cheaper)
however, making your own is a little more work but so much cheaper :D

bane

Offline tjpark1111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2008, 10:55:57 PM »
uhhhhh
idk if im being stupid but since servos only turn one direction when they're modified for continuous rotation, how would that work for a differential drive
 ??? ???
doesnt one side of the robot need to turn clockwise and the other anti-clockwise for the robot to go straight?  ???

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2008, 10:59:53 PM »
uhhhhh
idk if im being stupid but since servos only turn one direction when they're modified for continuous rotation, how would that work for a differential drive
 ??? ???
doesnt one side of the robot need to turn clockwise and the other anti-clockwise for the robot to go straight?  ???

that is a great question tjpark! many people would have disregarded that issue and realized at the last second .

But luckily for us modified servos can move in both directions , as can all servos
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline tjpark1111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2008, 11:15:00 PM »
how come servocity sells "anti-clockwise" direction as an optional modification for $10-20 more if they turn both ways in the first place? weird...
well anyway would i need to set up servo reversing on 1 of the channels so i can press forward on both of the sticks on the transmitter and the robot will go forward (w/ 2 servos)? or is it supposed to be all mixed up (press up on stick, down on other stick) and i should get used to it??

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2008, 12:31:39 AM »
hmm yes i thought that they were contineus before i checked that out..WTF??


~smash
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2008, 12:53:21 AM »
how come servocity sells "anti-clockwise" direction as an optional modification for $10-20 more if they turn both ways in the first place? weird...
well anyway would i need to set up servo reversing on 1 of the channels so i can press forward on both of the sticks on the transmitter and the robot will go forward (w/ 2 servos)? or is it supposed to be all mixed up (press up on stick, down on other stick) and i should get used to it??


im guessing it means reverse pulse codes ? anyone here know about it ?

so i would assume you get one anticlockwise and one clockwise servo( maybe , you'll need to check it out) and then you would press both up

or perhaps have a microcontroller control the servos
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline tjpark1111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2008, 09:15:58 AM »
uhm, does that mean i need to cancel my order RIGHT NOW and change one to anti-clockwise?
i thought RC cars were SO EASY to make, like the $50 one, and that guide mentions NOTHING about this. i guess the admin magically did it while he built his robot? like channel reversing or a way to modify to anticlockwise rotation?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2008, 09:20:47 AM »
ok so with a microcontroller you could give the servos opposite pulses, and if you connect a r/c receiver to a microcontroller then you could  control it


Im guessing the anticlockwise has opposite pulses, im not a 100% sure

also i Think , though im not sure , that if you are going to modify the servos anyways , you could turn the pot on one of the servos so that a pulse of 100 will make it go forward instead of backward

call them and find out what  anticlockwise means, and please post your results of what it is.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2008, 09:24:11 AM »
OK tjpark11 I GOT IT , IT JUST POPPED INTO MY HEAD!!!   :D


BUY THE SAME SERVOS  ( regular clockwise for both)

then when you get the servos , open one of them up and reverse the wires going to the motor . There you got one going clockwise and one going anticlockwise on the same pulse!

I just thought of this now and I'm going to be doing this for all my servos in the future. After I modify them , ill switch the wires of one of them so I have one universal pulse for forward and one for backward.

ADMIN PUT THIS IN YOUR SERVO MODIFYING TUTORIAL!!!
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2008, 10:50:00 AM »
Quote
with double sided tape doesnt it wear down? like really easilly?
actually, my main complaint about it is that its really hard to remove . . . its holds *too* well . . .

Quote
uhm, does that mean i need to cancel my order RIGHT NOW and change one to anti-clockwise?
i thought RC cars were SO EASY to make, like the $50 one, and that guide mentions NOTHING about this. i guess the admin magically did it while he built his robot? like channel reversing or a way to modify to anticlockwise rotation?
For RC, the controllers I use have reverse switches (nothing magic or difficult to do). And sometimes I just push reverse on a joystick for a servo to go forward, no problem for me . . . You can also buy what is called a 'servo programmer' to reverse a servo.

And for robots with microcontrollers, I just inverse the PWM signal I send using software.

Quote
then when you get the servos , open one of them up and reverse the wires going to the motor . There you got one going clockwise and one going anticlockwise on the same pulse!
interesting idea . . . this will also work!

Offline tjpark1111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2008, 02:59:55 PM »
i called servocity and they said you can pay $10 so that the default turning direction will be anticlockwise, so i guess it's just a convenience thing. yeah so, it would be very good to mention servo reversing and the idea that airman presented into your guide, it would help a lot.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #25 on: January 22, 2008, 04:26:29 PM »
well if you use my method then you don't need to pay an extra 10 bucks to change the default direction
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2008, 09:33:24 PM »
tjpark1111, are you sure your remote doesn't have reverse switches?

Offline tjpark1111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Placing the Hitec HS-311 servos on the 50$ robot
« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2008, 03:26:51 PM »
i ordered a laser 4, it definitely has servo reversing. it's just i didnt realize since im a noob. i got very frustrated  ??? it'd be good to mention servo reversing in the RC robot guide, and stuff about positive/negative shift and single/dual conversion.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list