Author Topic: $50 robot/photoresistors  (Read 2271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wlcTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
$50 robot/photoresistors
« on: January 21, 2008, 07:17:29 PM »
Instead of purchasing the photoresistors from radioshack, I'd like to purchase them from Digikey with the rest of my purchase.  I tried locating some myself, but there are so many options with so many specs. Does anyone know of a digikey part# that would work great for this?

Thanks

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 03:23:32 PM »
do a search for:
photocell
phototransistor
CdS

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 07:33:38 PM »
I don't think the values matters too much (someone please correct me if i'm wrong). here is a link to digikey photoresistors  http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?KeywordSearch . If you have a radio shack next to you I highly reccomend you just get them there. Sorry I couldn't help you more!
Robots are awesome!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 07:59:07 PM »
yea value doesnt affect it much. but generally if i use more than one i get the same size for all.

~smash
Howdy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 08:15:15 PM »
yea value doesnt affect it much. but generally if i use more than one i get the same size for all.

~smash

yes it does !!!

a 1 M ohm photoresistor and a 10K photoresistor require different software code and also teh comparator , comparing input, would also have to be changed
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2008, 08:25:14 PM »
It matters in what your second resistor value is, and the time response (time it takes to change with light). For a photovore, I wouldn't worry about the value . . .

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2008, 09:09:18 PM »
It matters in what your second resistor value is, and the time response (time it takes to change with light). For a photovore, I wouldn't worry about the value . . .

true but if you use a POT procedure (internal capacitor discharge i think) to measure resistance without a second resistor ( like you would have in ADC), then it matters
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robot/photoresistors
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 04:05:04 PM »
but this is for the $50 robot. It doesn't matter for this.
Robots are awesome!

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list