Author Topic: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.  (Read 3833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rox2007Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« on: January 24, 2008, 11:37:02 AM »
bW
׳SCZccFJLӑWWwWg3'6W76WgWfǒgbc"*
Wg7W'n'cW:;g◝gcccFϝƷcwjWM"g3ggbcsFWc7SW?BP۟(cWsJ̍ǒg"GW MWgƢ#8cG(c(cRcWwWM"WgBSBcSSCWNWLGMW Ʊ]*xbx(cs?s72Wg8GgG(c F


this is my output in hyperterminal
what did i do wrong

Offline neo01124

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 0
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 11:51:41 AM »
give us at least some details of what ur trying to do like what is being read, how its connected,etc.

in the meanwhile u could try ur hand at putty http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html
it has better GUI than hyperterminal and IMO is better and easier to use than hyperterminal

Offline rgcustodio

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
  • Helpful? 0
  • Use "Search" and ye might find answers!
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 12:00:15 PM »
yeah i second neo01124's comment.
provide more information

also does the baud settings of the sender and receiver match? (specially if auto-baud is not being used)
The best thing one can do when it's raining is to let it rain. - H. W. Longfellow

understanding is the path to enlightenment

Offline JonHylands

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 12:04:16 PM »
Check your baud rate, check your settings (8N1), make sure you've got hardware flow control turned off, make sure you're doing TTL -> RS-232 conversion...

- Jon

Offline rox2007Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 12:06:17 PM »
i am trying to relate information about my robot through uart to my computer.
I get info from the robot, but it is not readable (shown above).
i'm using uart with baud settings 38400

Offline neo01124

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Helpful? 0
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2008, 12:12:09 PM »
reading this post might help, it has some general troubleshooting tips....
http://www.roboticsindia.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2826
by the way did u try putty and was the output with it same??

Offline rox2007Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Helpful? 0
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2008, 12:24:55 PM »
yes the output was the same

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2008, 01:48:05 PM »
I 2nd JonHylands and rgcustodio, your baud rate is wrong somewhere.

Make sure the baud is set the same in the microcontroller software, on your PC hardware driver, and hyperterminal. Thats three different places - if you mess up one, all get messed up . . .

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2008, 12:29:43 PM »
I've gotten this when i've done too many printf's in one control loop in my code.

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: when i use hyperterminal to read my robot get gibberish.
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2008, 03:36:29 PM »
yeah and without a delay between the puts or printf commands can mess up the buffer

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list