Author Topic: quick hs-322hd servo question  (Read 2094 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
quick hs-322hd servo question
« on: January 25, 2008, 04:21:26 PM »
finally i got this baby in my hand,but surprize,, when i tried to move the shaft by hand ,,its hard, it doesnt move,, without having the servo plugged to anything,,, doesnt it have to draw current to maintain its position?
or once its clocked with a stable pulse,it just keeps the position without any current consumption?
good ol' BeNNy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 04:28:44 PM »
you answered your own question. it's so hard to move that no current is required
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 04:32:19 PM »
only at center? or at any angle when you provide constant PWM?
good ol' BeNNy

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2008, 04:52:16 PM »
A small turn of the outer servo arm relates to many many turns of the internal motor. This means if you turn the servo horn like 10o, the internal motor will turn like 30 times.

Each time you turn the motor, it uses energy making and breaking magnetic fields. So if you are turning the motor 30 times, thats a lot of work to do.

It is possible to move the outer servo arm, but it is just really difficult.
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 05:38:25 PM »
only at center? or at any angle when you provide constant PWM?
you tell it an angle. it will move there and stop. and no current will go to motor until it gets another signal
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 05:45:49 PM »
it works otherwise right?

try turning it with more force . . .

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2008, 11:21:43 AM »
so when the shaft is not moving it doesnt draw any current as long as it is in the right position
,only current is drawn when it moves, so when moving 12 servos to a position to make hexapod stand it draws current untill the hexapod stands up
,then it doesnt need any current to maintain the standing position, am i right?
good ol' BeNNy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2008, 11:31:31 AM »
yep
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline benjiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: quick hs-322hd servo question
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 11:35:40 AM »
thanks,, now i really love these servos :)
good ol' BeNNy

 


Get Your Ad Here