go_away

Author Topic: power switching circut  (Read 3058 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
power switching circut
« on: February 01, 2008, 09:31:51 AM »
i was thinking is there a circut that will monitor the voltage from a solar panel and when it drops below a certain voltage it switches to battery's. then when the voltage from the solar panel gets back to the required voltage it switches back
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 09:37:22 AM »
I think a switching regulator will do that.
Robots are awesome!

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 09:55:55 AM »
you need an under voltage monitor. The come in a 3pin package, power & gnd & out. When voltage drops below a certain level the out pin can switch on or off . They cost about $0.30 from microchip

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2008, 10:02:25 AM »
do you need to program them for a certain volatge
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2008, 10:03:23 AM »
no, you buy them with predefined threshholds

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2008, 10:19:13 AM »
i can't find any that will work at 5v
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline gmatkins

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful? 0
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2008, 12:25:59 PM »
This is a pretty common problem in BEAM robotics. The typical solution is to use a voltage trigger like this little fellow...

http://www.solarbotics.com/products/1381/

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2008, 04:53:37 PM »
go to some sites that give samples. it should be under power management
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2008, 05:00:14 PM »
while were on the topic of power manajment does anyone know where i can sample a 5V Linear Regulator
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2008, 05:57:26 PM »
sample them from microchip, you could also sample the voltage detectors from there (they go up to 4.63v detection)

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2008, 06:09:19 PM »
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2008, 06:25:10 PM »
That one only outputs 300ma, try to get one that outputs 1000

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2008, 06:54:28 PM »
yes..
Howdy

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2008, 06:57:09 PM »
try this
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1335&dDocName=en531455

get
MCP1826S-5002E/AB

in the TO-220 package.

And Smash, that one is a 6 lead design - that is the first thing that makes me think it is nothing like the 3 lead version in the $50 robot


Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: power switching circut
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2008, 07:57:38 AM »
keep in mind that when your solar panel voltage is for example 6V, and your circuit will decide it's high enough to switch your load to it, then your solar voltage will drop (because of the current you draw from it) , your circuit will decide the voltage is too low, and it will swithc your load back on the battery. Because the load is not on the solar panel anymore, the solar voltage will rise to 6V again, and your circuit will decide it's high enough again.
etc.

this will cause the the system to swithc between the two sources again and again... not good.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

 


Get Your Ad Here