Author Topic: $50 robo and I gone mad  (Read 2369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SkinnyDogTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
$50 robo and I gone mad
« on: February 08, 2008, 04:51:39 PM »
PLEASE somebody help me before i give this all up

1. I'm trying to send the program to my robot using the MK11 programmer i get a failed message when i try to verify it.

2. what is this about a reset resistor which is NOT in the tut. is this the cause of the above fault?

3. now it gets worse  Ive rechecked the voltage and i think the regulator has blown as the voltage is the same at the battery as on the pins connecting to the servos. It is a 7.2 volt battery pack, after i charged it its now reading 8.3v +- :o the side for the sensors is 5v. Nothing got even warm. The other thing is now the servos are turning but i got to pull the battery out to get them to stop.

I don't really know whats going on so i need someone with a lot of Patience  to help me out and explain to me what i should be looking out for.

Thanks.  :(

Offline gamefreak

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Helpful? 2
  • Robo-Enthusiast
Re: $50 robo and I gone mad
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 04:58:42 PM »
Following the tutorial the servos are supposed to be the same voltage as the battery, this is because voltage regulators cant handle many amps and motors cause noise, servos are designed for 4.8-6 volts(I think), Admin says that you should power them with 7.2 volts but other members have and said there motors work fine. The servos should not tun unless they have a pulse sent to them from the controller, so if you have the kind that have a pot that can be adjusted with a screwdriver you need to do that.
All hail Rodney, the holy 555 timer
And Steve said: "Let there be lead!"

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robo and I gone mad
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 05:12:02 PM »
Quote
servos are designed for 4.8-6 volts
yep you're right gamefreak. If I were you i wouldn't give the servos more than 6 volts. the battery should be a little more than 7.2 volts (for some reason it's just like) I have a six volts battery it's more like 7 volts when it's fully charged. i used the cheap programmer for the $50 robot so I can't help you much. check the voltage after the voltage regulator, it should be 5v.
Robots are awesome!

Offline SkinnyDogTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 robo and I gone mad
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 05:25:00 PM »
Ok thanks

 but i kind off read about the battery part i was just worried that its over charged and the regulator isnt reducing it to 5V. i have mad a bit of progress though. i had modified the servos to the piont of cutting off the stop and and drilling out the under side of the gear(they were solid, not sleeves with sir clips) so i opened them up and moved the pot by hand till they stopped just need to get some glue tomorrow.

That still leaves me with 2 questions. Whats the reset resistor for and why did i get that failed message when i tried to verify the transfer is it did in fact go though.

I hole this makes some sense as ive been awake for 32 hours

Thanks

Offline SgtToad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Helpful? 0

Offline SkinnyDogTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 robo and I gone mad
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2008, 10:19:09 AM »
 ;D IT LIVES, wa ha ha .

Just some fine tuning on the sensors now and learn some programming , i didn't need to do the reset thing, my frequency was wrong, but i still got a worrying factor that the voltage before the regulator and after is the same, to high. Over 8 volts when fully charged on a 7.2V RC pack

Thanks though guys for the input


 >:(Ok new problem i got everything hooked up, my servos only turn when i cover the sensors ie make it dark, other than that they sit idle, and only one servo will run at a time and only in one direction. is this a hardware issue of software.

im stumped, some one help please, remember im still noob
« Last Edit: February 10, 2008, 01:51:00 PM by SkinnyDog »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robo and I gone mad
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2008, 11:54:26 AM »
hmmm in the code, that should never happen . . . the servos should always move . . .

did you center the servos properly?

what are the voltages on the sensors? I was confused by your previous posts . . .

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list