go_away

Author Topic: AVR ISP MKII programmer  (Read 5726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SciOlyStudentTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Helpful? 0
AVR ISP MKII programmer
« on: February 12, 2008, 02:32:18 PM »
I just got this programmer and was confronting the problems most people have reported when trying to use it and suddenly an "upgrade" window popped up and the status light turned from green to red and orange blinking, and now the AVRStudio won't connect to the programmer!! please help!

Offline SciOlyStudentTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2008, 02:35:02 PM »
*flicks sweat off of forehead* , I figured it out, had to go to tools tab  and manually restart the upgrade (it was stuck in upgrade mode)...

Now a new problem, when I select program it says...
Reading FLASH input file ... OK!
Setting mode and device parameters... OK!
Entering program mode... FAILED!
Leaving program mode... OK!

As I've seen in other posts, they all get past at least this part before having an error.  I've tried all of the different ISP frequencies too...
« Last Edit: February 12, 2008, 02:42:05 PM by SciOlyStudent »

Offline garriwilson

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2008, 07:45:28 PM »
HAHA, same thing happened to me.

http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/AVRISPmkII_UG.pdf

Go to page 28

Where it says short circuit I just used some solder  ;D and bent it and stuck them through the holes. And the pins that you short circuit are a part of a connection, a connection for soldering on a custom 10-pin programmer header, if you forgot to make a 6-pin connector on your circuit board for the expensive programmer. That was just FYI.  ;D

Hope that helps.

P.S. The manual upgrade, well... it manually upgrades and kind of resets the programmer but with a newer version that works.

Offline garriwilson

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2008, 07:47:08 PM »
Try to change the frequency (it's in one of the tabs) to 125 (I believe) khz.

Offline SciOlyStudentTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 07:36:28 AM »
Try to change the frequency (it's in one of the tabs) to 125 (I believe) khz.

I have tried all of the frequencies listed and even a few that I typed in myself.

EDIT: I just tried what you suggested, but I get the same problem, could this be being caused by a short on my board?  Or maybe a problem with the programmer?
« Last Edit: February 13, 2008, 07:58:05 AM by SciOlyStudent »

Offline JonHylands

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2008, 02:05:47 PM »
Chances are good you made a mistake in your board wiring - that's what usually gets me on a new board...

- Jon

Offline SciOlyStudentTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2008, 02:10:26 PM »
Ok, here's the thing.  I am able to program my robot now, but after reprogramming it a few times, it comes up with the same symptoms.  I am able to fix it by going into the connection window and selecting my programmer and reconnecting.  I think it's a poor connection problem...

Offline garriwilson

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: AVR ISP MKII programmer
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2008, 07:20:36 PM »
Maybe you maybe a tiny mistake on the programmer pins, and it sometimes short circuits

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list