go_away

Author Topic: connecting sharp IR  (Read 2200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
connecting sharp IR
« on: February 14, 2008, 01:06:54 PM »
I am going to connect the Sharp IR Rangefinder to the $50 robot. the middle pin for the sensors on the $50 robot board is negative, right?
« Last Edit: February 14, 2008, 01:17:29 PM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 01:12:05 PM »
yer joshin right?

course, i can see your confusion on this post now:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3198.0

« Last Edit: February 14, 2008, 01:17:38 PM by bukowski »

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 01:18:51 PM »
Poop, i got mixed up somehow, srry. :-[  ::) clearly i need to study some more....I have been stupid way to often lately.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2008, 01:23:52 PM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2008, 01:33:32 PM »
happens to the best of us.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2008, 02:00:25 PM »
yeah but it's happened to me twice....anyways can some 1 tell me how to hook up the IR rangefinder?
Robots are awesome!

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2008, 04:39:10 PM »
there are three pins on your rangefinder. when it is "looking" at you, the left pin is the signal out, the middle pin is a ground reference, and right is positive.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2008, 05:37:27 PM »
ok, thx. but what i really wanted to know is how to hook it up to the $50 robot board. i know the pin next to the chip is for signal wire, but i'm not sure what the other pins are, i am guessing that it is the same as the servos but i want to make sure.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2008, 05:48:48 PM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2008, 12:21:17 PM »
exactly the same as with the servos

middle pin is power

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: connecting sharp IR
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2008, 01:26:15 PM »
okey dokey. :)
Robots are awesome!

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list