go_away

Author Topic: motors of the 40$ robot!!  (Read 3337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
motors of the 40$ robot!!
« on: February 16, 2008, 03:28:28 PM »
now after i complete the cerciut wireing and i connect the motors it doesnt move as it like the motor doesnt get any power only the green,red and blue LEDs are working but the motors doesnt
i connect the motor to pin 3 and 6 and the other one to 14 and 11 can anyone tell me what is wrong plz coz i spent alot of money and work on that project and it's so dissapointed to not to work

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2008, 09:22:18 PM »
I think you have not connected the output of the sensors to the L293D.
Post pics of your circuit if possible so that I will be able to help you better.

Offline hate_forever143

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2008, 10:33:57 PM »
hi dude...
same problem here...
motors are not working even though the leds are glowing...
my competitions is on the 20th
if you find a solution just notify me 2....

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2008, 11:00:14 PM »
Do you have a multimeter or a volt meter at hand?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2008, 03:15:34 AM »
yea i have multimeter
i'll try to post any pic today

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2008, 04:30:47 AM »
here is pic for my connections

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2008, 05:52:01 AM »
Couldn't find any mistake in your circuit. But i'm not sure of the connections of the L293d.
Can you post the close-up pic of the L293d connections?
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 05:55:19 AM by Pratheek »

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2008, 06:36:46 AM »
here is a close pic to the L293D connection

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2008, 08:45:26 AM »
Have you connected the motor wires to the L293d?(They are not seen the picture)
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 08:49:03 AM by Pratheek »

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2008, 08:55:44 AM »
i connect the motor to pin 3 and 6 (-ve pole to pin3 and +ve pole to pin 6 ) but it doesnt work

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2008, 09:48:46 AM »
What about the other DC motor?
You have to connect one dc motor to pin 3 and 6 and the other to pin 14 and 11.

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2008, 10:26:08 AM »
i solder both of them and nothing happened plz tell me what to do?

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2008, 11:40:51 AM »
could anyone tell me what is wrong wiz this connection
here is a question do i have to solder pin 3 with pin connected to the male header same goes with the other pins or not?
PS: lots of ppl facing the same problem so plz dont ignore

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2008, 06:07:17 PM »
could you post a photo of the top of the board aswell please so we can see how the polarity of the components are thanks :)

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2008, 11:35:16 PM »
here is the top

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2008, 05:43:48 AM »
From the picture which shows the top of the board, I see that you have not connected the sensor outputs to the L293d through the header pins. The procedure to do that is given at http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/66

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2008, 10:01:11 AM »
i did solder them coz i didnt find these sockets that attached to wires
but there is sth happened when i remove the two wires near the capacitor (to make the robot move white line follower) i was testing with one motor and when it moved i attached the other motor but when i switched on the ciruit again ,both motors weren't moving so what wronge happened?!!! ???
PS: do the motors need more voltage like battery of 12V or what?
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 03:19:32 PM by mohamed »

Offline Pratheek

  • Contest Winner
  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 125
  • Helpful? 3
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2008, 06:11:09 AM »
What are the ratings of the motor you are using?
And also what is the specification of the battery you are using?

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2008, 10:46:06 AM »
i'm using a 12v motor but it didnt say how much in the amps but it's number is (MMI-6S2L)
and i'm using a 9v eveready

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,666
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: motors of the 40$ robot!!
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2008, 06:03:49 AM »
Quote
i'm using a 9v eveready
Thats partly why its not working. You need a much better battery, like a NiMH or NiCad. A 9V probably can't power your motors.

 


Get Your Ad Here