2

Author Topic: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin  (Read 57309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hinge Thunder

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #30 on: December 19, 2008, 01:32:24 PM »
Wow, good job! Incredibly useful! Thanks!

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #31 on: December 21, 2008, 07:44:49 AM »
I don't want to be mean.... But I think there is a problem.... In the first version (I haven't seen yet the eagle version)
I think (cause this aims beginners) that connecting the two batteries should be more obvious... The connection under the
microcontroller of the two grounds is only visible if you remote the controller layer.... This might as well be very confusing
but can also work it's way to break the controller...


I really hate the thing that I may sound with a bada$$ here, but it's for making things better
not judge your work!!! ;)


Best Regards, Lefteris
Greece 8)
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline Jeevon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #32 on: December 28, 2008, 11:31:23 PM »
This is really helpful  :) Thank you very much !
Happy NEW YEAR to everyone ^^

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2009, 10:17:40 AM »
Hi,

Ok. Here's my latest bunch of files - including Eagle board [...]


I know it's been a while (I just stumbled over the topic), but in case you aren't aware (and not to steal your thunder), you have more errors than if you made it on an Etch-a-Scetch.

  • Strange wiring can be tolerated (by some) but isn't very neat.
  • You need to stay clear of acid traps, even if a vigorous rinse with an alkaline solution might get you through.
  • You should stay clear of Vias if at all possible.
  • The real tie breaker here is that you have shorted pins 23 to 28 by the pads of your connectors! (You'll see a lot of strange things if trying to connect it up and use the A/D lines).

I have made a revision to your board, but I haven't cleared up your shorts, since you need to, either consider other connectors, or change the pads of the ones you use.
Here's the revised board: http://that.homepage.dk/DL/$50_Robot_rev_B.brd
Compare it to your original and you might realize how to make your next layout better.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline WebbotTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 108
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #34 on: February 02, 2009, 10:51:14 AM »
Hi Soeren,

Have looked at your revision of the board and:-

1. You seem to have disconnected most of the Molex connector pins from the Ground rail !! So almost none of the IO pins would work.
2. You've replaced my Vias by changing it into a two layer board. I'd purposely made it one layer (as they are easier to make) and all the top layer lines (in red) are made by soldering wires onto the top level. I did this on purpose - so that, if someone is capable of making 2 layer boards, then its very easy to change. You've also done this to the ISP connector.
3. Pins 23 to 28 are NOT shorted out. I've made the PCB and it works fine. You can very this by uploading my Eagle schematic and running the Eagle checks against the board.

Cheers,

Webbot
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #35 on: February 03, 2009, 11:35:29 AM »
Sorry, i dont really know how to read the dot or this schematic, can someone tell me how to read it?

Thanks

joe

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #36 on: February 03, 2009, 11:49:12 AM »
this is the PCB design (attached), Joe. does anyone have the actual schematic for the $50 robot because i had it but it was deleted off of my eagle.
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #37 on: February 03, 2009, 12:23:28 PM »
Lol, i cant read that either, i dont get how to use the schematic

Offline WebbotTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 108
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #38 on: February 03, 2009, 02:30:53 PM »
Then you need to download the free Acrobat Reader from www.adobe.com
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2009, 09:22:26 AM »
I have acrobat reader I just dont know how to read it.

Offline householdutensils

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
  • Helpful? 2
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #40 on: February 04, 2009, 12:33:01 PM »
The white dots are holes, or connections with components or bridges, the black lines are copper lines. Think of it as a PCB Mask.

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #41 on: February 04, 2009, 12:53:31 PM »
i meant a schematic with proper circuit symbols and lines and positive and negative rails (optional).
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #42 on: February 08, 2009, 08:55:09 AM »
but the schematic dosnt show were on the PC board every thing goes so its confuzed me, can someone lead me to a schematic that will.?

Thanks

Joe

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #43 on: February 08, 2009, 08:57:15 AM »
but the schematic dosnt show were on the PC board every thing goes so its confuzed me, can someone lead me to a schematic that will.?

Thanks

Joe
Joe this is how it works
You have a schematic which tells you whats involved and connections , etc.
You have a layout that shows you where to place the components on the circuit board
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Geir

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #44 on: February 08, 2009, 09:31:06 AM »
I made a easy to read schematic, maybe this helps you

http://elektro.russemotto.com
$50 Robot schematic http://elektro.russemotto.com

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2009, 09:34:04 AM »
wow, that was easy to read. better the colour dot schematic ;)
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline Joesavage1

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #46 on: February 08, 2009, 09:35:21 AM »
but the schematic dosnt show were on the PC board every thing goes so its confuzed me, can someone lead me to a schematic that will.?

Thanks

Joe
Joe this is how it works
You have a schematic which tells you whats involved and connections , etc.
You have a layout that shows you where to place the components on the circuit board


Ok, i sorta get it, but i have 2 questions

1)There are many GND black dots on the dot schematic so which bit goes were!?!? ???

2)Were can i find a layout for the $50 robot?

Thanks

Joe

Offline frodo

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #47 on: February 08, 2009, 09:36:57 AM »
i just sent you a couple of layouts. here they are again ;D
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

Offline soonicboom

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #48 on: March 12, 2009, 01:41:22 PM »
where exactly is the pdf schematic?  I click on the link and get redirected to the forum post.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #49 on: March 12, 2009, 03:09:21 PM »
It is attached to the first post, kind of hard to see but it's there.

Offline WebbotTopic starter

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 108
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #50 on: March 13, 2009, 01:03:31 PM »
where exactly is the pdf schematic?  I click on the link and get redirected to the forum post.


I've emailed you the pdf but can you try going this link http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198 which should start with the text 'Before I started building the $50 robot I thought it....' and right underneath it you should see  a paper clip and '50buck bot.zip (98 KB - downloaded xxx times.)'. This is the link for the attachment.

Can you tell me if you can see and download it. The reason I ask is that I've been asked by other people who cannot see the link either and I'm just worried that its not showing for some people for some reason.

Thanks,
Webbot
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Dont_Taz_Me_Bro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Helpful? 1
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #51 on: May 02, 2009, 02:26:32 AM »
where exactly is the pdf schematic?  I click on the link and get redirected to the forum post.


I've emailed you the pdf but can you try going this link http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198 which should start with the text 'Before I started building the $50 robot I thought it....' and right underneath it you should see  a paper clip and '50buck bot.zip (98 KB - downloaded xxx times.)'. This is the link for the attachment.

Can you tell me if you can see and download it. The reason I ask is that I've been asked by other people who cannot see the link either and I'm just worried that its not showing for some people for some reason.

Thanks,
Webbot


I was unable to view any attachments and barely any pictures (for some reason sometimes they showed). I decided to register to see if by chance that solved the problem and low and behold it did.

Before I registered I couldn't view your attachment, but now I can....

Go figure?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #52 on: May 02, 2009, 02:29:29 AM »
but he is registered...
Howdy

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #53 on: May 03, 2009, 10:52:02 AM »
I am working on the circuit board for the $50 bot. I am at the step where it has the "Note for those using the 4.8 battery holder:". (I just added the power regulator and large black capacitor). I am using the battery holder and 9v combination. The note and accompanying image show to remove the power connection from the servo bus to the regulator. It does not show how to wire 4xAA battery pack. I downloaded the PDF circuit diagram here and it is terrific. Thanks. The PDF appears to use the power combination I have and from this diagram, it looks like I need to add another 3pin header for the 4xAA battery pack next to the one indicated in the tutorial. Then I need to add a wire from the Servo bus to this header. Have I interpreted this correctly?   

Second question. For this one, I prepared an image. For the programmer input, the PDF uses the 6 pin AVR connection. I have the 10 pin connection. I looked at the circuit diagram in the original tutorial and compared it to the PDF. Can someone verify that I interpreted it correctly?

Thank you very much!

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #54 on: May 03, 2009, 03:06:40 PM »
ok, to have separate power supplies only the bus line on the left should be in contact with your pack...
look at the attached and see if you understand the wiring.
purple is regulated, red unregulated, black is ground...
Howdy

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #55 on: May 03, 2009, 03:56:09 PM »
OK. Yes, that is how I understood the other diagrams. Thank you.

Do you have any comments on Question 2? Did I interpret that correctly in the lower right portion of the diagram? Thanks.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #56 on: May 04, 2009, 12:34:19 AM »
yes, im pretty sure yours is fine...
if you really doubt it take another look at the thing on admins tutorial that looks like a dot to dot.
i know your gnd is on the right side so go from there...
Howdy

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #57 on: May 04, 2009, 07:19:11 AM »
Thanks very much.

Offline gb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #58 on: August 09, 2009, 09:47:32 PM »
Hi guys,

I am just starting my first robot and I am stuck with the schematic here. The post from Admin says the following for users using a battery holder pack

"1 The 4.8V from the battery holder must connect to the ground of the black capacitor and the servo power bus.
2 DO NOT connect the battery + end of the capacitor to the battery + end of 4.8V battery!!!'


But the schematic (first attachment 50buck bot) shows a connect from + of 4xAA battery to the black capacitor and no connection for the gnd. Is there something wrong with my interpretation>

Thanks,
gb

Offline jaabot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 Robot with AVR ISP mkII 6 pin
« Reply #59 on: August 10, 2009, 12:13:32 AM »
Download the ZIP file attached to the first post on this thread. It has a nice schematic that shows the separate headers for the battery pack and how to connect everything. It is nice because it is a PDF with layers you can turn on and off.

However, when I used it, i realized I had to adjust the program header portion because I bought a 10 pin programmer and the PDF schematic showed a 6 pin. So I photoshoped it and have attached that one here. Also, after soldering the wrong connections on my voltage regulator, I found that if I printed out the schematic backwards, it was easier to follow since the connections are on the flip side of the board.

Hope that helps

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list