go_away

Author Topic: GUESS WHAT  (Read 2516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
GUESS WHAT
« on: February 20, 2008, 03:42:46 PM »
as the title says gues what happened to me last night.

wrong.


my $50 robot pc board finaly decided to allow itself to be programmed. i was making a parallel port programmer and for fun wanted to try the dongle programmer again. whalla it programmed though ponyprog in 20seconds. I'm so excited, cause it's been almost a year since last time i tried


do have a prob though. i installed winavr and then avr studio and then avr studio sp2. everything works, but it says i need winavr to compie the code.

help plz

but i still burned up 2 atmega8's. the led doesnt blink anymore but still works if i give it power. and the rest of the atmega's work too
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 03:44:59 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline silo_xtreme

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 03:52:33 PM »
ed,

Did you go into the "configuration options" and put the path to the WinAVR in the last tab/section?

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 04:21:41 PM »
o wow. i went there and winavr was already selected so i tried and it started bulding. weird eh  ???

then it gave me alot of errors. i restarted it and everything is ok. double weird  ??? ???
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline silo_xtreme

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 04:27:33 PM »
it might get weirder....

After I upgraded my JTAG usb driver, i have to frequently cycle the power on my Atmega in order to get the connection back.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2008, 05:21:55 PM »
o man.  :o

another question. i installed avrlib and it shows "uninstall" or their site. but their site is blank now.
how do i access the library of codes?

a year ago i did it somehow but now IDK how  :'(
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline silo_xtreme

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 172
  • Helpful? 0
  • I really love robots, they keep me awake at night.
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2008, 06:57:04 PM »
ed,

no worries :-)  I use it by adding it to my path (library, include files, etc...) in the configuration manager in AVR Studio.  I have had problems with the "order" of header files from time to time and placing referring headers in my main.h helped with this.

please let me know if this helps, at least i can help with something (or try) around here!

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2008, 08:17:16 PM »
thanks.


i finally found avr lib. my lack of a programming language keeps me from doing anything productive with it.

i know that pin d5 is the led. but i dont know what to write to make it low. this is so diferent than C for computers.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 08:20:44 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2008, 09:25:26 PM »
I'm planning on using this to drive a small bipolar stepper. http://www.datasheetarchive.com/preview/3521723.html
it says it will sink 700mah.
does that mean if the mcu outputs a HIGH that the output on the driver will be LOW?

thanks
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2008, 09:41:15 PM »
Quote
it says it will sink 700mah.
does that mean if the mcu outputs a HIGH that the output on the driver will be LOW?
I don't quite understand your question . . .

The datasheet says "700 mA Output Current per Channel", meaning it can't supply any more than that to your motor.

If I understand it after a quick look, a HIGH input results in a HIGH output.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2008, 11:41:26 PM »
Quote
it says it will sink 700mah.
does that mean if the mcu outputs a HIGH that the output on the driver will be LOW?
I don't quite understand your question . . .

The datasheet says "700 mA Output Current per Channel", meaning it can't supply any more than that to your motor.

If I understand it after a quick look, a HIGH input results in a HIGH output.
that's what i was asking about. i remember hearing the that sinking means outputing 0v and sourcing outputs +v
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: GUESS WHAT
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2008, 09:41:54 PM »
well guess what i found now ;D
http://rs4.rapidshare.com/files/30123390/C_Programming_for_Microcontrollers__AVR_.rar
its a tutorial of C and the avr butterfly and i just happen to have a butterfly 8) . the only way this could get better is if all the info could get bootloaded into my head. matrix style
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

 


Get Your Ad Here