go_away

Author Topic: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software  (Read 3697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ShagsTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« on: February 24, 2008, 03:59:50 PM »
I saw this on Electronix Express when I placed an order for an assortment of electronics.  I was tempted to buy it but it advertised it was for windows 3.1 or windows 95 so I think it may be a program that they never sold and is ancient (at least in computer years).

I think its concept is great allowing you to put electronic objects on the board and then virtually test your circuit.  Is this still a viable program or are there others that someone in the society likes?  I tried to follow links to the maker of this program but they have pretty much cut themselves off from the real world (I get permission denied errors from their server).  I have no idea if this is a discontinued product or if they have an xp version available.

Let me know if anyone is using something for circuit simulation that won't cost me more than about $50.  I have bought a breadboard but why not simulate the circuit before risking any real parts.  Also I think this would speed the process quite a bit and encourage more experimentation.

Thanks in advance.
Matt (aka Shags, hey you have to keep at least one nickname)

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 06:59:04 PM »
I use PROTEUS, but then again, I got a license for free from a friend

It usually costs mucho dinero   :o
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 08:19:50 PM »
sounds cool. let us know how it works out
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 06:52:58 PM by ed1380 »
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2008, 08:21:44 PM »
Hey admin

are we allowed to post illegal copies of software on the forum?

if you say no I will not post any, if you say yes there will be a ton of posts happening in an hour  ;)
jk, but should we post pirated software?


I would assume no, which is why I haven't posted any yet
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ScorpIon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Helpful? 0
  • Nobody said it was gonna be easy.
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2008, 08:06:39 AM »
Posting pirated software violates most TOS's, so if you do, you're risking the site. SOR could get shut down and Admin could possibly get into trouble.

Offline Steel_monkey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2008, 11:05:42 AM »
When you start crying, it is more likely to get shut down than just silently post changed link (without "http" of course and with slightly changed path, and for example with another number or something like that with later explanaions)- at least it will not be seen at google and will not attract attention.
But again, it is possible to find any program and book in the net, so posting here is not essential. Let SOR be legal.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 02:17:14 PM by Steel_monkey »

Offline ShagsTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2008, 05:44:30 PM »
Yeah lets not go stealing anyones work.  Hate to be the fly in the ointment but as a professional programmer I know I would feel a bit miffed if someone was taking my property and giving it away for free.  Lots of work goes into these projects so I am more than happy to give someone their $50 - $75.  However,  that being said I do expect to own my copy.  None of this renting the software business.
Matt (aka Shags, hey you have to keep at least one nickname)

Offline gamefreak

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Helpful? 2
  • Robo-Enthusiast
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2008, 06:53:47 PM »
http://web-ee.com/downloads/simulators/

I win :D
There is an entire list of circuit simulations, some do have free student editions.

Here is a java one, it seems to work, right click for a parts menu. http://www.falstad.com/circuit/
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 08:02:18 PM by gamefreak »
All hail Rodney, the holy 555 timer
And Steve said: "Let there be lead!"

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2008, 10:17:13 PM »
Not sure how you can post software on this site when the file size limit is .1% of what you need ;)

As for links to pirated software . . . no . . . keep that to IM's and such. I realize many of you (especially you 12 yr olds ;)) cannot possibly afford such software, but it might cause me problems as site owner.

For those who can afford the software, pay for it, as that helps these companies develop even better software for you in the future . . .

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Protolab Circuit Simulation Software
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2008, 10:22:35 PM »
OK admin

your word is gold  ;)
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

 


Get Your Ad Here