go_away

Author Topic: hookup wire  (Read 2407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
hookup wire
« on: March 06, 2008, 07:12:55 PM »
What hookup wire is used in the $50 robot tutorial?

I found some left over hookup wire that I used..lesson learned it was really too thick and clumsy.

Where is a good place to get hookup wire? what gauge is best for robots? 22? 24?


-Brandt

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 07:34:21 PM »
Either or, depends on the application. You can go as low as 26 if you wanted to. I usually use between 22 - 26. whatever is most conveniently at hand. But when im soldering into a perf board, i might use 20

Hope this helps
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2008, 11:25:26 AM »
Where is a good place to buy it?

Radio shack doesnt go any lower than 22 guage and doesnt have a very good selection of colors.

it seems like digikey only sells in bulk.


Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2008, 04:19:54 PM »
22 gauge is fine. Perfect even.
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2008, 04:37:59 PM »
go to radio shack to buy it. the gauge they sell is fine, it worked for me.
Robots are awesome!

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2008, 12:12:35 PM »
I used stranded core (16 gauge maybe?)  on my $50 robot board. Horrible.

Radio Shack sells 22 gauge solid core.


Solid core or stranded core for boards and sensors?

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2008, 01:54:06 PM »
Oooh always use solid wire ;). Stranded stinks.
Robots are awesome!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2008, 05:17:38 PM »
Oooh always use solid wire ;). Stranded stinks.

depends on the application
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2008, 08:36:45 AM »
I'm sure there is some use for stranded wire, just can't think of any right now.
Robots are awesome!

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2008, 10:01:48 AM »
Trumpkin, use stranded wire for higher current applications, or with high frequency AC (because of skin and proximity effect), or when you need more flexibility.

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2008, 10:32:59 AM »
Aah, I knew about the flexibility part but i didn't know that your supposed to use it for high currents.
Robots are awesome!

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2008, 09:11:14 PM »
I use it for soldering main lines on my boards
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: hookup wire
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2008, 07:35:49 PM »
22, 24, and 26 gauge will all work fine

 


Get Your Ad Here