go_away

Author Topic: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?  (Read 3910 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« on: March 10, 2008, 11:09:51 AM »
Hello, just had an idea bout using a circuit from a old cheap servo to control a regular DC motor.  However, i dout that you would want to control a 6v motor with it.....   so I was wonding if there is anyway to amplify the circuit w/ additional battery, mayby 12v?

Bane

Offline cooldog

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 11:17:13 AM »
all servos are are a dc motor and the circut :P

with some gearing
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2008, 02:44:37 PM »
i cant find it right now, but there are guides on how to take a servo board and add some transistors for a motor controller. but IIRC it's only one directional
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline izua

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 682
  • Helpful? 0
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2008, 02:45:40 PM »
get a hbridge and it's bi. directional of course :P
Check out my homepage for in depth tutorials on microcontrollers and electronics.

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2008, 10:52:56 AM »
you mean just use a dual h bridge instead of a servo circuit?

bane

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2008, 05:57:37 AM »
you mean just use a dual h bridge ?

bane

well yea , thats basically whats in the servo 
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline BANETopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2008, 10:54:14 AM »
you mean just use a dual h bridge ?

bane

well yea , thats basically whats in the servo 

You know i opened up one of my servos a while back and saw something like a long black bar thing with a few pins coming down, is that the bridge?

bane

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: using cheap servo circuit as regular DC motor control?
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2008, 05:23:16 PM »
ye it is the bridge]

but you should just get the L298 motor driver and use that , it also uses PWM
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list