Author Topic: useful domestic robots?  (Read 2520 times)

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
useful domestic robots?
« on: March 12, 2008, 01:55:00 PM »
I read in another thread that is it very good learning experience to build lots of easy robots really fast to learn.

I am interested in doing that, but I also would have more motivation if the robots were useful. (ie vacuumed the floor)

I am just a beginner so I'm just getting a feel for whats out there. I've heard of the photovore, photophobe, line follower, wall avoider, cat chaser, etc....

I guess I would just like to start a thread for people to just throw out some ideas of how to take those basic robots, and add something useful to them.

I'm all about domestic robots doing things that I don't want to, or I'm too busy to do. (vacuum, dishes, take out the garbage, pick up my daughter's toys and put them back in the toybox ;D, cook food!,) those would be the main ones hehehe.

I'm also kind of into home automation (x-10, insteon, misterhouse, etc), if anyone has any input on that.

As far as a robot doing the dishes, I tend to look at it from another perspective. Maybe its just time to re-engineer the layout of the kitchen and dining room all together to facilitate robots and automation. I think a robot doing dishes would be made simpler if there was like a conveyor belt that took our dishes through some sort of machine.

Anyway these are just my thoughts. What are yours?

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: useful domestic robots?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 01:57:23 PM »
What if the entire kitchen garbage can was a robot, or sat on a robot, and it sensed when it was full, and knew how to get outside to the outside trash can or dumpster and was able to get it in there somehow.

Offline superchiku

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll