go_away

Author Topic: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?  (Read 1858 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pomprockerTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« on: March 02, 2008, 06:37:42 PM »
Is the capacitor pos(+) suppose to bridge to the servo bus pos(+) when using the 9v and 4.8v battery pack? I understand you solder the 9V to the regulator pos and ground. and the 4.8V pack to the servo bus pos and ground. I understand you don't connect the capacitor to the regulator or the 3 pin header. but do you connect the capacitor pos(+) to the servo bus pos(+) ?? If anyone has any pictures of the soldering work using the separate battery packs, that would be great as I can be dense at times.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 06:13:09 PM »
The + of the capacitor goes to + of the servo power bus, while the - goes to ground.

Doesn't matter the power supply.

Try not to rely too much on the pics, and rely more on the schematic :P

Offline Loco Robo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 07:11:13 PM »
I looked at the schematic, and the dot on the cap+ was plain red, which means that it went to the 9V, but you just said to connect it to the 4.8V (Servo Power bus). Is this an error in the schematic, or am I just an idiot? I'm on a tight budget; I don't want to mess this up.
#@1L 73# 1337 L0(0 R0B0!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2009, 07:45:45 PM »
The dot schematic is for the single battery option.

For the 9V/4.8V option, you'd actually be better with two caps - one for each power source.

Offline Loco Robo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2009, 08:24:28 PM »
1) Where would the other cap go?

2) What is the cap doing when it is soldered to the power bus? (I understand how a cap works, I just want to know what it is doing.)

3) Could it work with just one cap?
#@1L 73# 1337 L0(0 R0B0!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ Robot capacitor connection?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2009, 08:30:53 PM »

 


Get Your Ad Here