2

Author Topic: Why not make a programming cable?  (Read 2292 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Why not make a programming cable?
« on: March 24, 2008, 10:03:27 AM »
I just took apart my programming cable for fun and it looked like an extremely simple circuit, so why doesn't everybody just make one instead of buying one?
p.s. I did find a few people on instructables who have.
Robots are awesome!

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Why not make a programming cable?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2008, 12:15:54 PM »
it is gum,, make it
good ol' BeNNy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Why not make a programming cable?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2008, 03:47:17 PM »
cause it doesnt work 100% of the time.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Brandon121233

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Genius is %1 inspiration and %99 perspiration"
Re: Why not make a programming cable?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2008, 09:46:58 PM »
Well most programing cables are relatively inexpensive and unless you happen to just have all those parts you need for one lying around, the price and time of having to order all the parts and put it together, is a lot more than the $15 it costs to buy one made and you know that works. The only reason I could think of why you would want to make one from scratch would be for the experience.
Hell, there are no rules here—we're
   trying to accomplish something.

                                                                              —Thomas Edison

Offline bulkhead

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Why not make a programming cable?
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2008, 03:15:12 AM »
If you need multiple ones and have the time, it is probably a good idea for saving some $.  However, when your robot just isn't working and you don't know why, the last thing you want to be worrying about is your programming cable...but if you do have a prebuilt one on hand, you could easily swap it out and rule out the programming cable as the cause of the problem.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: Why not make a programming cable?
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2008, 04:26:12 AM »
its very easy tomake a programmer and i have made one myself
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

 


Get Your Ad Here