go_away

Author Topic: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?  (Read 2857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline goatfishTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« on: April 01, 2008, 06:42:54 PM »
i recently bought this robot http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_102198/article.html and i have placed all of the parts in the right spot,right way around no short circuts or anything.But it doesnt have the motoors turn. if anyone else has made this kit before could you please tell me whats wrong with it.thanks seb

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 07:45:22 PM »
yep I built that kit once, I have it downstairs stowed away somewhere

Check if motors are connected right , if batteries are right . And if circuit is right. And if components are the right way.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline goatfishTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 07:59:23 PM »
I CAN ASSURE YOU EVERYTING IS IN THE RIGHT WAY(how do i put pics of the circut on i dont know yet)i have put the motors in every possible way and they still refuse to turn ???

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 08:00:25 PM »
thats weird, maybe the gearbox is screwed up?

do you hear a tone when you turn it on?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline goatfishTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 09:06:01 PM »
yea it makes a beep 3 time and the LED is in time with that,im thinking it might be a dry solder,another thing at first i had the LED around the wrong way then i fixed taht,could that have wrecked the chip or something?and the motors work properly too i put a voltage to it the same amount as the circut and they turn,so the motors definately work :-\ ??? :-X :(

Offline Private Reid

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Helpful? 0
  • I love apples ... Yum !!!
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 03:08:47 AM »
Hey, did any1 notice the first advertisement on the right hand side of that link is for...



SOCIETY OF ROBOTS       ;D      ;D      ;D      ;D

Soz for the off topic announcement

But i do have something useful to say!       (i think)


My cousin had this kit and he had a similar problem

I must ask him how he fixed it, but i think he ended up getting a refund...?... I shall attempt to find out.

This Post was proudly donated by Sam.

Offline goatfishTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2008, 03:50:01 AM »
ok well thanks for that private reid ;D

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 04:31:22 AM »
maybe you put the transistors in the wrong way?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ceruleanplains

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
  • Helpful? 0
  • Got Wumpus?
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2008, 11:16:29 AM »
you could get out a multimeter and if the setup is a breadboard or a protoboard (sorry didn't look) inject your probes before and after different components to determine if the voltage is what you'd expect.

Offline goatfishTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: escape robot kit,has anyone made it before?
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2008, 07:21:48 PM »
maybe you put the transistors in the wrong way?
the transistorts are all in the right way
you could get out a multimeter and if the setup is a breadboard or a protoboard (sorry didn't look) inject your probes before and after different components to determine if the voltage is what you'd expect.
and i dont have a multimeter,yet

 


Get Your Ad Here