Author Topic: LCDs  (Read 2799 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
LCDs
« on: April 02, 2008, 08:52:48 AM »
I always thought it was really hard (and expensive) to do things wth LCDs. Apparently it's not! http://www.moderndevice.com/LCD.shtml could you connect it to the $50 robot board? Might be useful for a future project. Some more about it http://www.moderndevice.com/Docs/LCDinst0.4.pdf
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 08:57:49 AM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
Re: LCDs
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 01:20:58 PM »
Depends on what you call expensive? I use the MOS-AL162A see http://www.active-robots.co.uk/text-lcd-display-yellow8260green-p-830.html which, I appreciate, absorbs the entire $50 of the robot. However it is extremely easy to use along with Admins 'rprintf' code and is a great aid. Cheaper LCDs, like the one you mention, are probably harder to code.

Since I don't have an oscilloscope, or other real time data logger, then its very helpful to have something you can use for trying to debug your program by telling you what it thinks its doing and why. Alternatively you could use a real time wireless data logger to send info back to your pc which is probably more useful as that would give you the snail trail history - but is probably even more expensive.

I mount my LCD via headers/connectors so that it is only used by my 'work-in-progress bots' and so one LCD can cover you for ALL of your projects. This means using the UART, as per the $50 robot tutorial extensions, which in turn means blowing a fuse to work at 8MHz and therefore upping the power consumption. So I have one Mega8 with the fuse bits set to 8MHz so I can use the UART and this is part of my prototyping system. Once the bot works ok I use a standard lower power 1MHz Mega8 without the LCD.

Rather than swapping chips in and out I actually swap the board in and out. So I have a development board (or you could use breadboard) with the 8MHz mcu plus LCD which I use for all my 'work in progress' stuff. This board, which is much bigger, means its much easier to probe with meters or scopes. Once everything is sorted I then build the production version of the board on a much smaller scale.

Sorry - my aged brain seems to be wandering !!

Summary:- LCDs are incredibly useful, buy once--use-often. Worth the investment.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline DC-Electronics

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Helpful? 1
Re: LCDs
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2008, 09:38:55 AM »
I have 3 for sale atm, just gotta list them :)
Motors and Electronics at a great price :)
Had to close my ebay store due to ebay shenanigans :(

Offline JesseWelling

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: LCDs
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2008, 12:07:04 PM »
SparkFun also has a large assortment of LCDs

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: LCDs
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2008, 04:44:37 PM »
I was kinda just talking about the serial LCD board. It looks like it makes it pretty easy to communicate with the LCD display.
Robots are awesome!

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
Re: LCDs
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2008, 07:38:43 PM »
Go for it - as per previous post they are v useful
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline frank26080115

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 322
  • Helpful? 2
Re: LCDs
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2008, 08:23:27 PM »
I have two of those kits, they are awesome, except the source code is not released (and the machine code is copy protected on the PIC chip so I can't download it from the chip itself)
If you want, SparkFun put up their LCD backpack's source code and schematics, sample a few PIC chips from Microchip and you can build your own for cheap.
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=258

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: LCDs
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2008, 03:32:18 PM »
Quote
could you connect it to the $50 robot board?
Yeap, just follow this tutorial:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/microcontroller_uart_50_robot.shtml

(I have all the answers, hehe)

 


Get Your Ad Here