2

Author Topic: atmega 8 price  (Read 6381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
atmega 8 price
« on: April 02, 2008, 11:33:34 PM »
any one no of some places to get cheap atmega 8  becouse where i live i can get 1 for about $25
and if you ask me that is a bit too much


Offline szhang

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
  • Helpful? 1
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2008, 11:35:23 PM »
I think that is way too much...  On digikey one is about 6 bucks.

Where do you live?  If you only need a few you might be able to get some from Atmel for free.


Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 11:37:47 PM »
i live in australia
 out in the country too which sucks

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 12:21:33 AM »
atmega 8 doesnt cost $25 , arounf my place it just costs around $2 also australia should have availibility of these  inexpensive microchips, i think u are talking abt the development board of atmega8 , otherwise i really think that the shopkeeper is trying to cheat u
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline goatfish

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2008, 12:34:31 AM »
i bought mine for $19.95 AU,oh well at least i have got it now,i spent 3 weeks waiting for cos of the dodgy courier guy,he left out a box from the order which had my chip >:(

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 12:39:35 AM »
i have not been able to find any cheaper then that $25 one i think that will mostly be the cost for them to get it

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2008, 01:24:34 AM »
does only the chip cost that much or the development board , and why o u need to ship it, isnt it available locally
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 02:17:31 AM »
no it aint available the shop i asked about it did not have it in stock but thay can get it
and it is just the chip

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2008, 08:24:31 AM »
WOW :o $25 for 1 chip! I'm glad i'm in the US  8). Especially since i fried my first 4 chips. :P
Robots are awesome!

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2008, 10:41:24 AM »
$25 for just a chip, why so much it doesnt cost so much anywhere
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2008, 11:26:06 AM »
You could buy them on Ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/5-pcs-ATMEL-ATMEGA8-16PU-AVR-8-bit-Microcontroller-Chip_W0QQitemZ230236625937QQihZ013QQcategoryZ50915QQcmdZViewItem muuch cheaper and the guy ships to australia. I pretty sure these guys ship to australia 2 http://www.futurlec.com/ICAtmel.shtml


Wow, 600 posts already.....
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 11:29:28 AM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2008, 11:43:26 AM »
milestone achieved!
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2008, 02:15:28 PM »
i think that i will gewt the 1s on ebay
there is 5 of them so it gives me back ups  just incase i fry them which is going to happen

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2008, 02:19:28 PM »
Problem solved. :D
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 02:20:14 PM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2008, 02:30:16 PM »
hmm.. 5 dont worry u wont burn them out  ;) everything will be a...ooookkk :P
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2008, 11:33:23 PM »
hmm.. 5 dont worry u wont burn them out  ;) everything will be a...ooookkk :P

 i recon that i will every thing wont be ok
 :P 

i should be paying for them today
« Last Edit: April 04, 2008, 12:23:08 AM by lkik »

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2008, 12:52:29 AM »
nah just keep the correct voltages nad all will be aaaoookkkk
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Private Reid

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Helpful? 0
  • I love apples ... Yum !!!
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2008, 02:34:40 AM »
You could buy them on Ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/5-pcs-ATMEL-ATMEGA8-16PU-AVR-8-bit-Microcontroller-Chip_W0QQitemZ230236625937QQihZ013QQcategoryZ50915QQcmdZViewItem muuch cheaper and the guy ships to australia. I pretty sure these guys ship to australia 2 http://www.futurlec.com/ICAtmel.shtml


Wow, 600 posts already.....



oh, c'mon!

that was the same ebay listing i was going to post!  :o


I just bought a set of 5 just like those ones (should be arriving any day now...) Be warned the seller does live in china...
This Post was proudly donated by Sam.

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2008, 07:18:50 AM »
Quote
nah just keep the correct voltages nad all will be aaaoookkkk
Yeah, but it never hurt to have to many chips...If your not careful you could shock them (static). 
Robots are awesome!

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2008, 08:10:45 AM »
did u ever burn any avr bfore

coz i really think i have this one gives the same error always when i try to program it

invalid device signature 0xffff
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2008, 10:32:57 AM »
invalid device signature 0xffff
happened to me moe than once some i was able to recover others not and trashed them
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #21 on: April 04, 2008, 10:34:00 AM »
why exactly is this error coming?
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline awally88

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2008, 10:02:52 AM »
hey lkik,

I'm from australia too, getting stuff sucks so much. I never got too much into robotics as it just didnt want to pay $20 (Jaycar electronics, search for my post about it) for the AVR which i might fry. I did some work for an adelaide company elabronics and i got a free board from them so I'm doing a little work with them and I'm thinking a might buy the board which admin is making.  Look into getting PIC uC's from microchip if you go to their site you can get 2 deliveries a month of microcontrollers for free!

Jaycar electronics is the best for getting stuff in australia that I've found, you can get some stuff from dick smith electrical however its a little bit more expensive than jaycar.

Hope I could help,
awally

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #23 on: April 05, 2008, 11:04:05 AM »
even the most advanced countries in this world have flaws i guess...
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Private Reid

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Helpful? 0
  • I love apples ... Yum !!!
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2008, 06:19:19 PM »
hey lkik,

I'm from australia too, getting stuff sucks so much.


Soooooo True !


Jaycar electronics is the best for getting stuff in australia that I've found, you can get some stuff from dick smith electrical however its a little bit more expensive than jaycar.


Dicksmith sucks! it just way too expensive, but Jaycar? Hmmmm


2 deliveries a month of microcontrollers for free!



Serious !!! OOOOOOO I'm definitely looking into that!
This Post was proudly donated by Sam.

Offline lkikTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #25 on: April 13, 2008, 04:10:26 AM »
i have goten some of ebay i am just waiting for them to show up then i can fry them lol

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #26 on: April 13, 2008, 05:04:19 AM »
so heres the deal with getting 2 deliveries a month for free

you have to have a nongeneric email address to apply ( not ending in gmail.com , aol.com , mail.com,etc.)

for the microcontrollers you get need  programming hardware and compilers . I use the PICBASIC Compiler primarily ( with some assembly code dashed in  ;D ) . There are C compilers as well but they cost mucho $$$.  Also, there might be some free compilers out there for PICs ,and though they aren't the best, they can do basic procedures and stuff.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2008, 06:28:26 AM »
is there any way to ger avr microcontrollers like that and where do i get a non generic email???
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline awally88

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
  • Helpful? 0
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #28 on: April 13, 2008, 03:36:08 PM »
Quote
free compilers out there for PICs

I heard that Microchip put out a free Student version of the C compiler but I havent had a chance to for it yet.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: atmega 8 price
« Reply #29 on: April 13, 2008, 05:40:13 PM »
is there any way to ger avr microcontrollers like that and where do i get a non generic email???

to sample AVR microcontrollers you have to call them up and they need to cehck you out to make sure you are a company. Worth a shot to call them though////

nongeneric email , i use hotdak.net or irishnation.com
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list