Author Topic: Thermocouple  (Read 3012 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Thermocouple
« on: April 08, 2008, 11:15:20 AM »
Is it posssible to make a thermocouple to keep your hot chocolate warm?
Robots are awesome!

Offline Private Reid

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
  • Helpful? 0
  • I love apples ... Yum !!!
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2008, 04:58:35 AM »
Quote
thermocouple
  :o wouldn't have a clue what that means

but if it means just a heat mechanism, then yes. I made one ages ago (like when i WAS 9) and i kept on upgrading it...it now has a LCD to display the temperature of the coffee.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2008, 07:16:32 AM »
Quote
thermocouple
   wouldn't have a clue what that means
basically two pieces of metal that generate heat when DC current passes through them.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 07:17:07 AM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 07:49:18 AM »
a quick google search confirms my beliefs. a thermocouple is a sensor. do you mean more of a peltier setup? http://www.peltier-info.com/
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2008, 08:07:48 AM »
I just want to make something that heats up when DC passes through it. And I want to hopefully make it for free. I really don't want to use AC for obvious reasons. After looking through one of my electronics books I guess I meant could I use the thermocouple principal . It says here that "If the right metals are chosen, the junction heats up when a current flows through it. This is called the thermocouple principal."
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 08:15:23 AM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2008, 10:18:02 AM »
All you need is a conductor with a lot of resistance, like nichrome. You will have to experiment with, depending on what your power source is, how long the coiled wire is and how thick of wire to use. remember, the thicker the wire, the less resistance = less heat. Also, wrap your coil around a non conductive material, like a ceramic.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 952
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 11:57:08 AM »
well i dont know if this works in dc but u can use the eddy current issue that we get on transformers , they really heat up rolled laminates of metal  . only thing is that u need to pass the current through the metal and theyll heat up
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 12:38:07 PM »
Quote
All you need is a conductor with a lot of resistance, like nichrome.
That sounds like what I need. thanks! I found some really cheap on ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/24Ga-Geniune-Nichrome-Wire-30ft-coil_W0QQitemZ230238644069QQihZ013QQcategoryZ26213QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 12:42:40 PM by Trumpkin »
Robots are awesome!

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,696
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2008, 06:49:44 AM »
Probably the most efficient way is using a small peltier chip as ed1380 said, powered at like 3V would work fine for coffee. I wouldn't be surprised if someone sells a powered coffee cup already . . .

Offline Spoil9

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 155
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2008, 07:25:36 AM »
I know the idea behind this is to study and learn, but yes, wally world sells travel coffee mugs that have a small RCA connector where you can plug it into your cars 12V outlet to keep your coffee warm.
Perhaps this will solve your problem, or perhaps you could buy one and reverse engineer it?
Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil.

Offline TrumpkinTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: Thermocouple
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2008, 12:23:25 PM »
I definently don't need one, I just want to make one for fun.
Robots are awesome!

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list