go_away

Author Topic: 50$ robot goes in circles!!  (Read 2091 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
50$ robot goes in circles!!
« on: April 14, 2008, 04:31:10 PM »
now after i had finished the robot and i decide to give it a try here is what happened
the robot goes is circles and i don't know what to do, is it the problem in the photoresistor or what
i remember a post about that problem but i couldn't find it so plz help me
also i want to make the robot to avoid obstacles could i do that without using the IR sharp or not
thanks

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 05:08:15 PM »
Is one of the servos on backwards?

if you look at the pictures, one servo is pointing in a different direction, but also flipped over.

Offline mohamedTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 05:12:59 PM »
i'm sorry but i didnt catch up what u r trying to say?
u mean that i have to flip one of the servos or what
thanks for r post

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 05:30:39 PM »
Yeah,

 in the pictures of the $50 robot, one of them is flipped

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,121
  • Helpful? 108
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2008, 01:31:56 PM »
Quote
i want to make the robot to avoid obstacles could i do that without using the IR sharp or not

Since the only inputs you have are based on light levels then it will only avoid obstacles if they cast a shadow.


Quote
the robot goes is circles
Other replies have mentioned flipping the servos. But to make sure then you could make a small program so that both motors go full forwards and see what happens. If it still goes in circles then you need to 'flip' one of the servos.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 09:49:01 AM »
I had this problem too. I pulled off the photoresistors and tested them , and was getting way different readings from them in the same light. I think i may have gotten one a bit hot when I soldered it. Since I was planning on doing the sharp IR upgrade, I went ahead and did that rather than replace the resistors.

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2008, 10:41:31 AM »
once you do the UART, you can do a printf of the photosensor output and find their individual ranges in different light and record it. Use admins UART and data logging tutorial for this. Then you can alter your code accordingly. It makes it really easy to make changes to your robots code once you get the bootloader working (I have it working on an ATmega8)

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ robot goes in circles!!
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2008, 04:06:02 PM »
use a multimeter on your sensors to see what they are outputting

 


Get Your Ad Here