Author Topic: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?  (Read 9583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« on: May 17, 2008, 10:20:52 PM »
I tried upgrading the forum to the latest SMF version, but I had a lot of problems with it. Its not not acting right . . .

If you notice any weird bugs, please report them here!

Also, as of at the moment, new youtube links aren't working :-[

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 10:26:51 PM »
I downgraded part of the forum to fix youtube . . . arg . . . I'm using multiple versions at the same time . . . hope nothing breaks . . .

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2008, 03:27:39 AM »
actually on this site only videos dont play at my computer  :'(

i dont know whats wrong, i use windows vista

i tried other websites and videos do play perfectly,,,could be youtube stuff?

good ol' BeNNy

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2008, 05:52:40 AM »
actually on this site only videos dont play at my computer  :'(

i dont know whats wrong, i use windows vista

i tried other websites and videos do play perfectly,,,could be youtube stuff?



i have vista too and it works perfectly fine

maybe its a faulty plugin for the youtube stuff on your computer
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline ishka

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Helpful? 0
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2008, 02:42:55 PM »
I actually do have a bug with this forum only. Just have a look at this :

you notice the blue question marks ? I only get them on this forum, and it's quite annoying to have to look at the url-link to know if i'll post a new reply at the topic or mark all new posts as read.

Btw, using Safari on MacOs10.5
May the Achtuche be with you...

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2008, 03:07:50 PM »

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2008, 03:02:37 PM »
ishka, still having that image problem on Safari?

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2008, 06:20:32 AM »
I just upgraded the forum to the newest version (bugs and security fixes).

If you notice anything odd or something that isn't working properly, report it here.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2009, 02:56:58 PM »
I just upgraded the forum to the newest version, 1.1.9.

If you notice anything odd or something that isn't working properly, report it here.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2009, 07:47:50 PM »
No longer says how many people are in Chat in the User Info toolbar.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2009, 01:41:59 AM »
airman00,
if you look at the attached picture the red box has the number of people in the chatroom currently... (only me)
you are right that it is no longer at the bottom though.
Howdy

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2009, 05:18:21 PM »
To stay ahead of the hackers (or at least try to), I just upgraded the forum again today.

You guys know the drill: report anything I broke in the process here. ;D

ps - hackers suck

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2010, 04:55:41 PM »
I just upgraded the forum to the latest version.

Everything appears to be working the same as before, but if anything weird comes up, let me know.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2010, 07:29:40 PM »
Hi The moving smilys don't work any more!
Take a look yourself:
 :o
and
 :'(
and
 :-*
They don't move!
Its a  big thing for smily fans ;D
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2010, 08:11:25 PM »
Work fine for me. Check your computer.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2010, 02:56:21 PM »
I just installed a honey pot as yet another defense against the spammers . . . let me know if it causes any weird problems for you.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2010, 04:50:43 PM »
I just installed a honey pot as yet another defense against the spammers . . . let me know if it causes any weird problems for you.
Only 6 days, and it already says "Spammers stopped by MOD httpBL: 2025".

Unfortunate that ~5 still got in within that time . . .

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2010, 09:55:00 AM »
Just visited with my android phone. Had to get past some math questions, and it took two tries.

Is that what you installed?

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2010, 02:03:39 PM »
Just visited with my android phone. Had to get past some math questions, and it took two tries.

Is that what you installed?
Yea. It basically keeps track of IPs that have done things only a spam bot would do within the last X days. I set it to like ~40 days.

I checked the logs, and saw that you used two different IPs that had both done something 'bad' two weeks ago. I also determined two other users to be definitely infected with something . . .

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2010, 02:40:09 PM »
I checked the logs, and saw that you used two different IPs that had both done something 'bad' two weeks ago. I also determined two other users to be definitely infected with something . . .

Something bad? My at home ISP rotates address every few days. In fact I can force a new IP by restarting my modem.  My cell phone is what got me the math quiz. From what i understand, the IP of a cell phone rotates quite often, and because of this spammers use cell networks for no good.

There was a news article on how wikipedia wants to ban the whole Verizon network form making edits because of this.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2010, 05:12:05 PM »
Man had to answer another 4 math questions from my cell phone. Hope this works for how annoying it is.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2010, 06:27:29 PM »
Man had to answer another 4 math questions from my cell phone. Hope this works for how annoying it is.
Arg . . . I've been looking at the logs and found several major bugs in the HoneyPot code . . . it triggers when it shouldn't be.

I also saw that it triggered two more times for you, one of the IP addresses was a spammer two days ago, and another 3 days ago. I think this phone IP address thing is really messing up the HoneyPot . . .

Four more spammers got passed it today, so it's not even doing it's job properly :-\

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2010, 06:34:43 PM »
Anyway you can code it to check IP address and user account? Then if the user has say >50 posts, it would never trigger the honeypot?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 10:48:28 PM by Admin »

Offline rbtying

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 452
  • Helpful? 31
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2010, 07:59:23 PM »
Honeypot triggers from my school network - maybe make established institutions' IPs on a whitelist? 

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #24 on: December 06, 2010, 08:28:38 PM »
Unfortunately I have no control over the HoneyPot. It only causes you 'problems' if you use an IP address that was used to relay spam.

I'll give it a few more weeks, and if it causes much more problems than it solves, I'll disable it.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2010, 10:48:59 PM »
Anyway you can code it to check IP address and user account? Then if the user has say >50 posts, it would never trigger the honeypot?
I figured out how to do this . . . the most active users will never be annoyed by it again ;D

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2010, 11:35:52 PM »
How many post a day would "active" be?
Not that I've had any problems or anything, just curious...

Actually, now I can't log into chat!
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 11:37:19 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #27 on: December 08, 2010, 08:28:46 AM »
How many post a day would "active" be?
You need at least 3 robots next to your name.

Quote
Actually, now I can't log into chat!
hmmmm working for me!

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2010, 02:54:04 PM »
Anyway you can code it to check IP address and user account? Then if the user has say >50 posts, it would never trigger the honeypot?
I figured out how to do this . . . the most active users will never be annoyed by it again ;D

Sweet! Sounds better to me now.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #29 on: December 08, 2010, 02:56:36 PM »
Actually, now I can't log into chat!

Also works for me, but i did get this pop-up. (attached)

 


Get Your Ad Here