go_away

Author Topic: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?  (Read 10354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #30 on: December 08, 2010, 03:18:27 PM »
Actually, now I can't log into chat!

Also works for me, but i did get this pop-up. (attached)
yea I saw that too . . . anyone know how long that error has been there?

It seems to work despite that bug . . .

I've been waiting for the final SMF forum 2.0 version to be released, and then I'll redo the entire forum from scratch, and fix the chat while I'm at it. It's taking them much longer than I thought . . . I'm guessing at least another 3-4 months . . .

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #31 on: December 08, 2010, 03:54:11 PM »
It seems to only be generating that error on Chrome. I hardly use chrome, so no idea how long it's been like that.

But no error with firefox, just checked.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #32 on: December 08, 2010, 04:25:14 PM »
I tried to login to chat a minute ago both on Internet explorer and Chrome and they both didnt let me log in. normally I use Internet Explorer and have never had any issues with chat until now.

Maybe i should try FireFox?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #33 on: December 08, 2010, 04:32:20 PM »
Just tried firefox and am having the same problem.

I am getting the error message "You can't access the chat" after i try to log in.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #34 on: December 08, 2010, 05:21:51 PM »
Just tried firefox and am having the same problem.

I am getting the error message "You can't access the chat" after i try to log in.

Just as a check, and you've probably already accounted for this, but did you log into the forum with that particular browser first before logging into chat?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #35 on: December 08, 2010, 05:32:39 PM »
Yeah, i was logged into the forum on the 3 browsers  before trying chat.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #36 on: December 08, 2010, 07:58:11 PM »
I'm getting the same as Joker94, exactly
Exept i'm using Firefox (latest version) only, do have an ancient version of IE, so i can test on that too...

EDIT: A thought just occurred to me, maybe Australian IP's have been blocked from chat?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 08:00:07 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #37 on: December 08, 2010, 08:33:10 PM »
And just to be sure, when you click this link, you get the error as a pop-up or?


To be honest I'm not even sure where to start with fixing this bug, especially since it works on my end lol . . . I might just let chat suffer until the forum upgrade, then I'll do a fresh install with the latest versions of everything.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #38 on: December 08, 2010, 08:53:43 PM »
Here's a screen shot for you (attached) using the link from your previous post.
I get the "You can't log into chat" even if I press "log in"
My password has been removed for security ;)

The same happens with my bookmark, and the forum link in the news bar.

In the mean time for anyone who can't log into chat, I set up http://gabbly.com/http://www.societyofrobots.com/

« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 08:57:18 PM by voyager2 »
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #39 on: December 09, 2010, 06:59:41 AM »
Quote
I might just let chat suffer until the forum upgrade
:o :'( :o :'( :o :'( :o :'( :o :'(

I just noticed that bit, nooo...

I like the SoR AJAX chat

*crys, sobs, etc*

And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline knossos

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Helpful? 14
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #40 on: December 09, 2010, 11:17:29 AM »
Here's a screen shot for you (attached) using the link from your previous post.
I get the "You can't log into chat" even if I press "log in"
My password has been removed for security ;)

The same happens with my bookmark, and the forum link in the news bar.

In the mean time for anyone who can't log into chat, I set up http://gabbly.com/http://www.societyofrobots.com/




Same exact problem here on Firefox 3.6.12 running on Ubuntu, and Win 2k Pro .
Also with Chrome running on Windows XP sp 3.
Also with IE v 8..6001.18702 on XP sp 3.
Also with IE v 6.0.2800.1106 on Win 2k pro.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2010, 11:27:36 AM by knossos »
"Never regret thy fall,
O Icarus of the fearless flight
For the greatest tragedy of them all
Is never to feel the burning light."
 
Oscar Wilde

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #41 on: December 09, 2010, 07:32:00 PM »
Admin do you want us to view source, then email it to you so you can compare them (even if there are no differences, its still checked)

I'll also be in Gabby chat if anyone's interested (see 3 posts up)
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #42 on: December 09, 2010, 08:05:10 PM »
I've temporarily disabled the Honey Pot . . . does chat still give you the error, anyone?

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #43 on: December 09, 2010, 08:11:58 PM »
No its not the honey pot, still comes up "You can't log into chat"

EDIT: I also tried Netscape Navigator 9.06
 

And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #44 on: December 09, 2010, 08:39:33 PM »
Still having the same issue

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #45 on: December 09, 2010, 08:49:18 PM »
I looked into it further, and it appears it's a permissions issue. I suspect the latest forum update somehow modified the settings. I'd need to do a complete clean install of the chat system to get it to work, but it's unfortunately a lot of work . . . I'll add it to my list of things to do . . .

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #46 on: December 16, 2010, 10:57:55 PM »
Time to bring up the idea of an official IRC channel again again again?
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #47 on: December 17, 2010, 05:11:59 AM »
Time to bring up the idea of an official IRC channel again again again?

Not IRC but Gabbly ;)
http://gabbly.com/http://www.societyofrobots.com/
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #48 on: December 17, 2010, 11:54:13 AM »
Inefficient and too many ads. Plus there's the whole http://stuff.com/http://otherstuff.com/ thing.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #49 on: December 18, 2010, 01:13:13 PM »
I just upgraded Member Pages to the latest Drupal version (just security fixes). As always, if you see odd problems, let me know.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #50 on: December 18, 2010, 03:38:41 PM »
I found a bug, there's a flurry of cold white stuff poring out of my monitor and all over my work bench. I can't have that!

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #51 on: December 18, 2010, 06:31:51 PM »
I found a bug, there's a flurry of cold white stuff poring out of my monitor and all over my work bench. I can't have that!
Easy solution : move work bench away from snowing monitor

Hard solution : Turn off javascript
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

Offline Aber

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Helpful? 0
  • I like Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #52 on: December 19, 2010, 03:16:18 PM »
I found a bug. Every time I sign in to this forum I see this scroll bar down the screen appears and starts flickering. I don't even know where this scroll bar came from. This only happens in this forum. It doesn't happen in any other sites.
Aber Aljadi

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #53 on: December 20, 2010, 02:54:29 AM »
I found a bug. Every time I sign in to this forum I see this scroll bar down the screen appears and starts flickering. I don't even know where this scroll bar came from. This only happens in this forum. It doesn't happen in any other sites.
yea, i'm getting that as well.
i think it's caused by the festive snow effect overlayed on the page.

dunk.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #54 on: December 20, 2010, 03:21:28 PM »
I found a bug. Every time I sign in to this forum I see this scroll bar down the screen appears and starts flickering. I don't even know where this scroll bar came from. This only happens in this forum. It doesn't happen in any other sites.
yea, i'm getting that as well.
i think it's caused by the festive snow effect overlayed on the page.
Turn off java and see if it's still happening.

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #55 on: December 20, 2010, 06:24:46 PM »
it is definitely something JavaScript related.
that's why i thought is was the snow effect. i presume snowflakes are getting drawn outside the displayed screen area.
(and yes, turning JavaScript off the snow and the weird scrollbar go away.)

dunk.

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #56 on: December 21, 2010, 12:31:04 AM »
I found a bug: Where there used to be chat there is now distracting snowflakes.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Aber

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Helpful? 0
  • I like Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #57 on: December 24, 2010, 03:28:44 PM »

[/quote]
Turn off java and see if it's still happening.
[/quote]

What if there were other programs that are running using java script? Wouldn't turning off java script make other programs that run by it turn off?
Aber Aljadi

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #58 on: February 11, 2011, 11:24:36 PM »
Forum was just upgraded (a security fix patch). Let me know if you see any new bugs that haven't already been reported here.

Offline voyager2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 459
  • Helpful? 6
  • Behold! The Impossible Triangle of robotics!
Re: forum upgrade problems, found a bug?
« Reply #59 on: March 03, 2011, 10:08:24 PM »
Well I got desperate in my search to unlock the chat and...
I signed up for another account!Tesla_of_Oz

It worked... momentarily   ::)

Then it logged me out of chat and now I can't get in, again  :-\
And Admin said "Let there be robots!"
And it was good.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list