Author Topic: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???  (Read 3570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline carchuteTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« on: May 18, 2008, 03:36:46 PM »
hi, Im building the $50 robot, the thing is Im running on very limited resources around my town, I couldn't find the ATMEGA8, but I found this, I thought it was kind of the "same", anyways here is a PDF describing the piece, can anyone tell me if it will do instead of the ATMEGA8?
thanks in advance

http://www.steren.com.mx/doctosMX/m27c256.pdf

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2008, 03:47:19 PM »
without checking the datasheet i think it has more qualities than the atmega8 ,, maybe more ports,,,more timers? you can read the datasheet
and yea it surely can replace that
good ol' BeNNy

Offline carchuteTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2008, 03:58:43 PM »
The thing is that I already built the motherboard according to this schematic
http://www.societyofrobots.com/images/sbs_avr_schematic.png (the one of $50 rob tut)
, but the DIP configuration is totally different in my micro controller than theATMEGA8's one.

http://www.steren.com.mx/doctosMX/m27c256.pdf (mine)
http://www.toddholoubek.com/classes/pcomp/code/c_tutorial/atmega8.pdf (atmega8)

check the DIP configuration out, will it work anyway?

 thanks in advance

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2008, 04:19:54 PM »
Man, that's an EPROM not a microcontroller....
microcontroller has first of all EEPROM (huge difference) and can do much much more than a memory....

I'm sorry to say it but with this you are going nowhere...
Try finding any ATMEGAXXXX or ATTINYXX micro series...
ATTINY2313 is the most common micro you can find on the market...
For more advanced try finding a ATTINY26... personally a very very nice chip... (10 ADC 10bit channels are a bow down situation...)

But this is an eprom... a memory that you can't even erase electronically..

Sorry to disappoint...
For further help please ask...

Lefteris
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline carchuteTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2008, 04:51:54 PM »
Thanks for clearing that out! Sorry but I have very limited knowledge on all these electronic things... I did some research and in my town I found this "Microcontroller" http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1335&dDocName=en010280 (includes datasheet) what do you think about that one? could it work? in the data sheet also the diagram is different, but I hope at least its a better option than before
thanks in advance

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2008, 11:50:04 PM »
Since it's a Microchip controller I can't help you cause I don't know anything...
But surly it's gonna work...

Generally PIC are more hardcore than AVR... but...
The only thing I can say is good luck by now...


Lefteris
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2008, 02:57:38 AM »
mm i thought the question was if the atmega8535 can replace the atmega8 ,,,sorry to missunderstand
good ol' BeNNy

Offline dolinay

  • Contest Winner
  • Jr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 18
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2008, 07:51:52 AM »
If you mean with the motherboard for Atmel, which you already buit, it will not work.  You need microcontroller with the same pin configuration, which I am afraid will be only ATMega 8. Even other Atmels will have different pin layout and it would be troublesome to redo the motherboard. But PIC is completely different, it requires different programmer, different software to write programs...

I just started to play with PIC (have experience with atmel and freescale) and personally I don't like PIC  :(. The development tools are not as good as for Atmel and for many types there is no free C compiler (or I am bad at searching) - so you need to program it in assembler.

Can you order the ATMEGA8 somewhere on the internet? Even if you pay a lot for the shipping I'd still suggest this rather than using PIC. If you are new to these things you will have hard time getting it all work without some tutorial - and you won't be able to use much of the tutorial for Atmel-based robot except the mechanical part... :-\

Offline anggie

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2008, 07:44:02 AM »
how's your progress?? have u try it?

anyway, i'm still a little bit confuse with the question.is it about replacing the ATMega8 with ATMega8535, ATMega8535 with ATmega8, or ATMega 8535 with the EPROM?

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Can this replace the ATMEGA 8535 ???
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2008, 09:40:35 AM »
Quote
i'm still a little bit confuse with the question.is it about replacing the ATMega8 with ATMega8535, ATMega8535 with ATmega8, or ATMega 8535 with the EPROM?
its the last one,, i was confused like u and answered as it is the first one,,
folks, watch how ya ask,, ;D
good ol' BeNNy

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list