go_away

Author Topic: 8-pin connector?  (Read 3671 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vidamTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 423
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
8-pin connector?
« on: May 27, 2008, 05:36:45 PM »
I have an MCU that has an 8 single-pin ISP header. Do I use the AVR ISP in system programmer cable to program the board? There is no user-friendly development environment such as Arduino. So that leaves me with WinAVR with AVRStudio correct?

The chip is an ATmega 168. Is is not possible to use a hardware debugger cable instead right using the ISP with a JTAG cable?

« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 02:35:32 PM by vidam »

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,207
  • Helpful? 15
  • 1.6L Peugeot 307 tuner
Re: 8-pin ISP?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 09:46:59 AM »
I have an MCU that has an 8 single-pin ISP header. Do I use the AVR ISP in system programmer cable to program the board? There is no user-friendly development environment such as Arduino. So that leaves me with WinAVR with AVRStudio correct?

The chip is an ATmega 168. Is is not possible to use a hardware debugger cable instead right using the ISP with a JTAG cable?



8pin ISP.... who made that board...
JTAG doesn't need any bootloader to work... just asking... And ISP pins aren't the same with JTAG...

Well, for programming get the CLK, MOSI, MISO and RESET pins plus ground to the ISP to work where ever they are, you don't mind...
I seems I don't get what exactly you are asking...

Anyways, it will help making the question a little bit clearer...

Lefteris
For whom the interrupts toll...


P.S. I've been inactive for almost a year... Don't give promises but I'll try to complete my tutorials. I'll let you know when..

Cheers!

Offline vidamTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 423
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
Re: 8-pin connector?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 10:20:31 AM »
Sorry, but I'm not allowed to share specifics about the manufacturer... company policy.
It think it uses debugWire. It has a couple of jumper pins to switch to different modes on the same header labeled ISP.
I'm sure it is simple, I'm just not trying hard enough....

-Melanie
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 02:36:01 PM by vidam »

Offline bens

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 8-pin ISP?
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 11:36:07 AM »
I have an MCU that has an 8 single-pin ISP header. Do I use the AVR ISP in system programmer cable to program the board? There is no user-friendly development environment such as Arduino. So that leaves me with WinAVR with AVRStudio correct?


The current version of the Arduino IDE (0011) supports ICSP programming.  I'm currently working on a user's guide that explains how to modify the Arduino files so it uploads using ICSP rather than an Arduino bootloader, but you can get much of the same information from the Arduino hacking section of the Arduino home page.

JTAG uses four pins, but is not supported on the mega168, as far as I know.  ISP uses six pins (only five of which might be necessary depending on your ISP programmer), and debugWire uses one pin (it connects to the reset line, which must be free of capacitance and have a pull-up resistor that is greater than 10k).

I also am not really sure what you are asking, and I'm not sure how to help you without knowing what you are working with.

- Ben
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 11:47:05 AM by bens »

Offline vidamTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 423
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
Re: 8-pin connector?
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2008, 01:35:24 PM »
I have an MCU that has an 8 single-pin ISP header. Do I use the AVR ISP in system programmer cable to program the board? There is no user-friendly development environment such as Arduino. So that leaves me with WinAVR with AVRStudio correct?


The current version of the Arduino IDE (0011) supports ICSP programming.  I'm currently working on a user's guide that explains how to modify the Arduino files so it uploads using ICSP rather than an Arduino bootloader, but you can get much of the same information from the Arduino hacking section of the Arduino home page.

JTAG uses four pins, but is not supported on the mega168, as far as I know.  ISP uses six pins (only five of which might be necessary depending on your ISP programmer), and debugWire uses one pin (it connects to the reset line, which must be free of capacitance and have a pull-up resistor that is greater than 10k).

I also am not really sure what you are asking, and I'm not sure how to help you without knowing what you are working with.

- Ben


How much longer must I wait for the user's guide to explain how to modify the Arduino files so it uploads using ICSP rather than an Arduino bootloader? Thanks I'll look over the hacking section in depth. Otherwise I'm stuck with Basic for AVR. :-<
 
[deleted text]



Can you use the Arduino development environment on a non-Arduino board as long as it contains the ATmega-168?


« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 02:36:17 PM by vidam »

Offline vidamTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 423
  • Helpful? 1
  • Robotronics.org
Re: 8-pin connector?
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2008, 01:44:38 PM »
.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 02:36:28 PM by vidam »

Offline bens

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 8-pin connector?
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2008, 03:11:36 PM »
How much longer must I wait for the user's guide to explain how to modify the Arduino files so it uploads using ICSP rather than an Arduino bootloader
It should be out in the next few days, hopefully.  It will be specifically targeted at programming Orangutan robot controllers (basically fancy mega168 carrier boards with some additional external hardware) from the Arduino IDE, but the same technique can be used to program any mega168 from the Arduino IDE using ICSP.

Quote
Can you use the Arduino development environment on a non-Arduino board as long as it contains the ATmega-168?
Yes.


- Ben

Offline bens

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 331
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 8-pin connector?
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2008, 01:54:13 PM »
Here's a link to the application note I mentioned:

http://www.pololu.com/docs/0J17

Hopefully you can generalize the instructions to apply to your particular setup.


- Ben

 


Get Your Ad Here