Author Topic: 3-axis gyro IC  (Read 22614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
3-axis gyro IC
« on: June 02, 2008, 11:40:58 AM »
I'm looking for a gyro IC that can do all 3 axes, and can't seem to find any . . .

I realize I can get two and mount them perpendicular to each other, but thats not what I'm asking :P


Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 01:08:46 PM »
hmmmm $275+ for an IC is out of my price range :P

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2008, 10:04:50 PM »
I hunted around for a combination x/y axis rate gyro and a z-axis rate gyro, but really only came up with this one:

http://www51.honeywell.com/aero/common/documents/myaerospacecatalog-documents/Missiles-Munitions/GG5300_Three_Axis_MEMS_Rate_Gyro.pdf

If $275 seemed expensive, trust me, honeywell would make you pucker. Get the Navy to pay for it!  ;D

I also found a bunch of articles by universities making them, but I cant seem to find any in production.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2008, 10:06:37 PM by bukowski »

Offline JesseWelling

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2008, 12:04:10 AM »
How about a 3 axis gyro/accelerometer/magnetic sensor for 349?
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8726

although this is nice and integrated for you I still kinda think the better option is to have all these parts separate. That way you can get the 3axis accelerometer right close to the center of mass without having to worry about positioning a larger board, and you can get your magnetic sensors away from your motors. Since your motors are most likely to be one of the heavier components on most hobby robots and all...
And gyro's can go any where....

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2008, 12:13:16 PM »
My plan was to make a 6-DOF IMU that fit within an inch squared to sell as a product for under $100.

So my budget for the 3-axis gryo was under $30 . . .

Failed product idea :P

Offline JonHylands

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2008, 01:21:52 PM »
Yeah, the one-axis gyro chip I use, and the two-axis gyro chip I use, each cost about $50.

I sell a six-axis IMU for the Bioloid for $250. That is about as cheap a 6-axis IMU I've ever seen...

- Jon

Offline nThanksForAllTheFish

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2010, 10:30:26 AM »
It's 2010 and I believe this is the first one:

http://www.st.com/stonline/stappl/cms/press/news/year2009/p2440.htm

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 3-axis gyro IC
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2010, 07:45:39 PM »
Another just got released two days ago:
http://invensense.com/mems/catalog.html

They call it the worlds first 3-axis gyro - obviously a lie. $15/unit, or $12/unit if you buy 100.

 


Get Your Ad Here