Author Topic: Relay current draw  (Read 4505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Relay current draw
« on: June 05, 2008, 02:10:35 PM »
I have a theoretical scenario :

One relay rated for 12 volts and  2 amps to switch it on
One 12V 20ah battery

Can I use the 20ah battery to switch the relay, or would the relay fry b/c its too much current flowing through the relay coil

I mean I would think that the relay would not fry , but I just want to make sure .
Thanks
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: Relay current draw
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 02:28:47 PM »
the relay needs 12V 2A to activate the coil?? That's enormous.
How big is this relay? 1,5 meter ?

I think the correct stats are that the relay can switch 12V up to 2A.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Relay current draw
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 03:29:04 PM »
no it wont fry, but i doubt that it takes 2 amps to actuvate the coil  :o

u sure?
good ol' BeNNy

Offline Nyx

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Relay current draw
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2008, 04:06:21 PM »
Can't you take an ohm meter across the coil pins and measure the resistance, so that you know its actual current draw?

Offline airman00Topic starter

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: Relay current draw
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2008, 05:28:13 PM »
no it wont fry

thanks


by the way this relay I mentioned does not exist which is why I said

I have a theoretical scenario :
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RobD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Relay current draw
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2008, 05:43:31 PM »
The relay wouldn't fry.   

But...if the power source wasn't designed to supply 2A for the amount of time you needed it to, then the source itself, might fry. 

Just another way of looking at things theoretical  ;D   

*edited to add*

If it was quoted at say, "20Ah/1A continuous"
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 05:49:29 PM by RobD »

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list