Author Topic: programmer for$50 robot  (Read 1813 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vishalsaxenaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Helpful? 0
programmer for$50 robot
« on: July 01, 2008, 09:06:12 AM »
Hey people I have this  six pin dip programmer how do i program my $50 robot MCU with 10 pin male headers.......???????????


Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programmer for$50 robot
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2008, 10:23:16 AM »
you have to match the pinouts of your programmer to the pinouts of the header. Look at your programmer's datasheet.

Offline vishalsaxenaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programmer for$50 robot
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2008, 10:24:14 PM »
Well my programmer pinouts dont match as programmer has 6 pins ( female ) and MCU has  5*2  pin ( male )..........

Can I make other programming board just to program it with this programmer.......

and then use the same Atmega8L in my $50 MCU ????????

I found this site      http://electronics-diy.com/avr_programmer.php                                                                                                           
and I have this same programmer ( given on the above website) ....... having six pins ( female )
but programmer board for it is different......

If i make this board and program it will it work on $50 robot???????

Admin If you can reply please do.....

Thank you
Vishal Saxena
« Last Edit: July 01, 2008, 10:26:35 PM by vishalsaxena »

Offline vishalsaxenaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programmer for$50 robot
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2008, 01:15:33 AM »
Help me please........ :) ::) ::) ::) :-[ :-[ :'( :'( :D

Offline bukowski

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Helpful? 0
Re: programmer for$50 robot
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2008, 11:15:34 AM »
First off, let me tell you I have never done this, and I am assuming that everything in the tut is correct.

It should work fine, just sub in the 1x6 programming header in place of the 10-pin, and make sure you connect the signals as it is drawn.



Also, it appears that you will need an 4Mhz external oscillator for it to work.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: programmer for$50 robot
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2008, 06:27:12 AM »
All the instructions are in the tutorial, just read it carefully again.



Nope, no external oscillator is needed.

 


Get Your Ad Here