Author Topic: Which MCU do you use?  (Read 1005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hudbrogTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Helpful? 0
Which MCU do you use?
« on: October 28, 2008, 03:40:28 AM »
Hi all,
I've just joined. I'm from Russia, robobuilder and just a geek =)
So, just out of curiosity, which MCU do you use for your projects?
I've read through some topics, and mostly people here use Axon, which is an AVR board.
Does anybody use anything other then AVR? I dunno.. ARM for example, or parallax chips.. And why do you use what you use?

As of me, lately I've been using ARMs. As example, here is a board I've designed for general robotics (lots of stuff not soldered in on that picture: 2.4ghz rf transceiver, two 30A H-bridges, USB connector, some other stuff):


Offline szhang

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Which MCU do you use?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 06:05:03 AM »
dsPIC33F for low-medium stuff.  Though for some strange reason I seem to be a tiny minority...  They are powerful, pretty easy to use, easy to program (in C), and cheap.

A PC104 stack for high-end stuff. 



« Last Edit: October 28, 2008, 06:07:53 AM by szhang »

Offline jka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Which MCU do you use?
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 06:23:37 AM »
dsPIC33 and PIC24 for most of my stuff. I have an ARM board I'll use later, but right now I stick with 16bit PICs

Offline ArcMan

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: Which MCU do you use?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 08:12:43 AM »
I still use the good old PIC 16F's.  I'm desparately trying to find a project that they can't handle so I have an excuse to move up.  ;)


 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list