go_away

Author Topic: robot with tracks  (Read 14436 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
robot with tracks
« on: November 08, 2008, 01:11:36 PM »
i would like to build a robot like this one. what would i need to do that

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 02:22:10 PM »
look in the picture and then do research on the parts you see.

Your question is too broad.
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2008, 03:39:06 PM »
And don't forget that decent tank tracks are expensive. Hard to judge the size of the robot in the image but it looks expensive !!

If this is your first outdoor robot then I would suggest you might be better starting with 4 wheel drive. Once you get this up and going then the electronics, drivers etc should be easily transferable to a tracked vehicle.

IE - blow the budget on getting stuff working (not just on the initial chassis).
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2008, 04:06:34 PM »
a little off topic  : But i was curious about this track design
http://www.guzer.com/pictures/wheelchair_tank.jpg
Any advice on finding parts , etc. ?
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2008, 04:26:46 PM »
Back in the 1970s Warwick University in the Uk built a robot based on a tracked vehicle chassis that had been used by the military for remote bomb disposal in Northern Ireland. Although I'm always anxious about googling for anything to with 'bomb' nowadays !!  But I wonder if there any ex-military spares out there? Admin - I think you were attached to navy - so get those motor pool boys to free up some old stuff for us  !! 

We need a kind of hippy co-operative as per the Clint Eastwood fiilm 'Kellys Heroes'. Do this for us Admin and your nick name will become 'Odd Ball' !! (Not an insult - just a movie reference!!!). And don't come back to me with any 'negative waves man'.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2008, 06:19:39 PM »
i need help with the wheels. would you have one servo on each wheel.

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2008, 06:29:13 PM »
if you want details on building tracks, try searching for radio controlled tank building sites.
there are actually quite a lot of good sites out there on making RC tanks that go into detail on tracks.

as for wheels, yea, attaching a wheel to a servo is the simplest way of getting a moving base.
have a look at this site's $50 robot.


dunk.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2008, 06:37:55 PM »
well you could build it from scratch or I know that mythbusters got a vex robotics kit and built one...
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2008, 07:15:37 PM »
can you get a kit for these kinds of tracks

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2008, 07:35:11 PM »
With the vex kit it would not look the same but it will function the same....  and another change is that the small tracks need to go in between the two larger tracks google it you should find the mythbusters project.....                   
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2008, 07:52:47 PM »
Tada

Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2008, 09:31:35 PM »
i don't know how to put the second tracks on

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2008, 10:28:10 PM »
basically first off you build two sets of tracks the big one and the small one... then you mount the second one using motors so that the end can go up and down and if you add universal joints so that it breaks the way the tracks are going then it may add support
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2008, 10:36:53 PM »
thanks. do you know any websites that show me how to mount it.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2008, 10:49:26 PM »
no, except maybe if you find pics from the mythbusters show....  vex or smaller and less complex build would be your best guess... I went to a first competition last year and a they had one of the designs you want to build and they guy wouldnt tell me the exact price top build he just said EXTREMELY expensive... and thats with out erroe and having to buy new parts....
um anyway anymore questions ill be back on tomorrow... I just won my first FLl championship of the season today so I was really excited bout that
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2008, 11:05:15 PM »
what is FLl ???

Offline madchimp

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2008, 11:39:51 PM »
well the robot in the picture is a PackBot made by iRobot used by the use military and I'm sure other government agencies on their site http://store.irobot.com/corp/index.jsp they have other bots and a pdf with accessories including replacement treads for the PackBot but no prices, I'm sure it's one of those things if you need to ask don't bother lol.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2008, 07:25:41 AM »
first lego league the thing that got me into robotics..... www.firstlegoleague.org
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2008, 09:04:56 AM »
how do they attach the two wheels.

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2008, 11:23:42 AM »
my guess would be the rotors or whatever is driving the robot is split and has something running down the middle thats how it appears to be.....or to go cheaper you could just put a piece od aluminum on that side and attatch everything...
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2008, 11:45:59 AM »
no offense duderobot, but judging by the questions you ask you seem WAY to inexperienced for this type of robot.
Try it later, first make the 50$ robot, then a 4WD/tracked robot,...

these types of robot are extremely expensive and hard.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

Offline duderobotTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Helpful? 0
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2008, 12:09:36 PM »
ok

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2008, 03:02:14 AM »
duderobot, read the tutorials on SoR - you'll learn a lot!

Quote
But I wonder if there any ex-military spares out there? Admin - I think you were attached to navy
Nope, I worked for the bio-chemistry section. They only have spare pathogens ;D

Offline MaltiK

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2008, 07:02:27 PM »
Warranty

Offline Rebelgium

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #24 on: November 14, 2008, 05:30:39 PM »
http://www.solarbotics.com/products/gmtpkg/


FYI, those wheels are about 1.5cm in diameter, and those motors are pretty weak.
This kit is only suitable for very small robots.
To relax after some hard work on robotics: A very fun free online text based MMORPG
orgcrime.net

Offline Metal Slug 2

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 333
  • Helpful? 11
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2008, 12:00:10 AM »
http://www.solarbotics.com/products/gmtpkg/


heres some more tracks actually from VEX.  a bit pricey and they don't come with servos either. http://www.vexrobotics.com/vex-robotics-tank-tread-kit.shtml

however, heres a website which can teach you how to make your own tracks! : http://www.rctankcombat.com/articles/track-systems/

i would go with the bike chain one; just find some old bikes in the garbage and salvage their chains and the rear gears.  Just use some WD-40 to get rid of the rust  ;)  it will surely save you some money.

Offline MaltiK

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
  • Helpful? 2
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #26 on: November 16, 2008, 06:49:54 AM »
Theres a tutorial on how to make reaaally sick looking treads:

http://robosapienv2-4mem8.page.tl/T_1-Rise-of-the-Machines.htm

where the outcome is this:



but it looks extremely expensive
Warranty

Offline AdvsNoob

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Helpful? 0
  • Younge Inventer
Re: robot with tracks
« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2008, 08:16:19 PM »
i don't know how to put the second tracks on


Try a servo on another set of tracks, the servo will give you a 180 deg's of rotation the you can use another motor or maybe a motify servo for the second track, create a plate like this.



Hope that helped a bit.

 


Get Your Ad Here