go_away

Author Topic: How many sensors do I Need??  (Read 1890 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JoeSkullTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Helpful? 0
How many sensors do I Need??
« on: November 20, 2008, 01:48:28 PM »
I thinking of making a robot with sonar,
and I need to know if I make a robot with 4 sonar sensors do I need any additional sensors??
Or would 4 sonars keep me from running into stuff??
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 02:04:51 PM by JoeSkull »

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Helpful? 5
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 02:41:16 PM »
You only need 1 SONAR sensor (with a scanning servo) to keep you from running into stuff.
Robots are awesome!

Offline JoeSkullTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 02:47:06 PM »
true
i just didn't want to have to move it around
but i guess i could
which do you think will work better??

Offline dt

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2008, 03:15:22 PM »
true
i just didn't want to have to move it around
but i guess i could
which do you think will work better??
I'd say 1 sonar with servo because it's cheaper that way :o

Offline paulstreats

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,381
  • Helpful? 21
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2008, 03:31:26 PM »
You can also get back richer data more easily by mounting it on a servo. (meaning you can scan the servo left and right without having to scan by moving the full robot)

Offline SciTech02

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 136
  • Helpful? 3
  • Life's but a green duck with soy sauce. -MegaHAL
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2008, 03:36:42 PM »
Also, you could use two sonar sensors at the front of the robot at an angle from each other.  It's simple to implement and program, but it only covers the front of the robot (The back remains open).  Personally, I think you should try to put the two sonars on top of a single scanning servo.  This is what Admin did with one of his older robots (I forgot the name).
Check out the Evolution Robotics, ER1 robot, and ERSP Resource Page: http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/336

Offline JoeSkullTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Helpful? 0
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2008, 04:27:26 PM »
i have decided to go with 2 sonar angled down, rotating, on top.
it seems to fit my needs better.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,660
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: How many sensors do I Need??
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2008, 03:18:54 AM »
Quote
This is what Admin did with one of his older robots (I forgot the name).
Actually I've never put sonar on a servo before . . . my Fuzzy robot has fixed sonar and sharp IR on a servo, perhaps that one?

 


Get Your Ad Here