Author Topic: $50 robot servo/mcu help  (Read 3189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
$50 robot servo/mcu help
« on: November 22, 2008, 11:24:26 PM »
PLEASE HELP! I have no idea what's going on. I finally completed my microcontroller a few days ago and got it working. I uploaded the holdservo program to it so I could modify the servos, and it worked. After I modified them I uploaded the provided photovore code to it. I plugged both of my modified servos into it and only 1 of them worked, but that one worked perfectly. It turns out I messed up one of the servos when I tried modifying it. So I ordered another servo. When it arrived I put the holdservo program back on the controller and modified it. Then I put the photovore program on it again. Now when I plug everything in and turn it on the motors turn a little bit and then stop. This happens everytime I turn it on and off.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 11:25:36 PM »
Also, now I just tried to reprogram it thinking that sometthing might have gone wrong when it uploaded the program, and now the computer doesn't even recognize it.

Offline szhang

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
  • Helpful? 1
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 11:27:53 PM »
Sounds like the uC is dead... Though it is possible you just wrote a bad fuse value.

Do you have a spare microcontroller?

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 11:33:08 PM »
I do, and I tried plugging that one in and connecting it to the computer, and it still doesn't recognize it.

Offline szhang

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
  • Helpful? 1
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2008, 11:44:36 PM »
you sure your ICSP pins are all connected correctly?  Is the power connected correctly?  You might also try restarting the computer, I remember a couple of times where my AVR programmer stopped working until I restarted.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2008, 11:53:11 PM »
My pins are connected correctly and so is my power. I just restarted my computer and it still isn't recognizing it. I also checked the voltages and they're good too.

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2008, 12:29:15 AM »
after you program the robot...do you turn off the robot. unplug the programmer from the robot mcu, and then power cycle the robot?

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2008, 01:28:51 AM »
what does power cycle mean

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2008, 10:36:16 AM »
I'm guessing it's the microcontroller, so I'm going to get a new one of those. Does it make sense to get the better one for the extra dollar.

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2008, 10:40:46 AM »
what does power cycle mean


turn the board on , then turn it off, then turn it on
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2008, 12:51:32 AM »
Check the battery voltage.

Also, using a multimeter, check the pin to the servo that wasn't working properly for a disconnect.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2008, 03:58:09 PM »
Everything is working except now when I try to write the program on the Atmega168 after it said it wrote it and verified it it says write failed

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2008, 04:08:36 PM »
check to make sure microcontroller is firmly in its socket , double check connections, and check voltage
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2008, 04:38:36 PM »
I did that and it still isn't working, do i need a different program for the 168?

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2008, 04:28:26 PM »
there might be a "ghost" short somewhere

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2008, 04:40:36 AM »
Upload this hex file and let us know if you still get the error:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=5932.0;attach=2153

If you still get an error, that means you wired something improperly or set up ponyprog improperly.

If you don't get the error, that means you compiled your .hex improperly.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,121
  • Helpful? 108
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2008, 11:09:22 AM »
When you re-compiled the program for the ATMega168 did you remember to change the makefile to say your are using an ATMega168 rather than a ATMega8 ?
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot servo/mcu help
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2008, 05:57:33 PM »
Yes. And I changed the timer in the Sor_utils

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list