Author Topic: $50 Microcontroler  (Read 2787 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
$50 Microcontroler
« on: November 29, 2008, 10:10:16 AM »
I just finished my microcontroler and hook it up to the computer to run the .hex file for my servos.  But is says something like it isn't getting power.  I am using the six pin programmer and I am not quite sure I soldered the wires correctly.  I looked at several other forums to find any useful info.  Any advice? Or can somebody post up a picture of the copper side of the perf board who usied the six pin programer, so I can compare it with mine.

Thanks

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2008, 10:26:05 AM »

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2008, 11:04:33 AM »
I have seen that but my microcontroller still doesn't have power...I meant by picture, is that a member that has made this microcontroller post up a picture of theirs.

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 12:25:21 PM »
Is it your MCU thats not getting power or are your pins reversed? Extremely common problem, that last one. Took me like 8 checks to finally figure out that it was my problem. All 7 times I was 110% sure my pins were correct too lol
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2008, 12:56:52 PM »
well I am going to cut the wires in a little bit and retry it. Then I will repost if I have any problems

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 10:44:57 AM »
Why cut the wires? and which ones? If its a power issue all you need to do is check your batteries and check all connections to make sure theres no loose wires in the solder and that theres not even a microscopic short in your circuit. No need for any wire cutting or anything
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,132
  • Helpful? 109
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 02:16:56 PM »
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2008, 03:44:16 PM »
I dont know I might just start over.  It was the first time I soldered and I did a horrible job plus I didn't know until now I used wire that had the strandes in the middle.  But beside that I will make another one but first what would be a good MCU that I can buy for the $50 robot? Is there a good one from Atmel?

Offline HDL_CinC_Dragon

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,261
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2008, 06:09:14 PM »
whats wrong with the ATMega8?
United States Marine Corps
Infantry
Returns to society: 2014JAN11

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2008, 07:34:27 PM »
There's nothing wrong with the ATMega8, I have probably should of said I was looking for a agumented microcontroller

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2008, 07:41:01 PM »
If you can wait a week or two you can get the Roboduino  - which is ATmega168 based
http://erobots.blogspot.com/2008/11/new-robot-product-roboduino.html
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2008, 07:55:44 PM »
So it will be on the market in about two weeks? sounds great! With this augmented microcontroller I can make the fiftydollar robot and can I add all the upgrades?

Offline Ro-Bot-X

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2008, 08:00:15 PM »
Yes. All that and more. It's Axon's younger brother :)
Check out the uBotino robot controller!

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2008, 08:06:47 PM »
NICE!   Do you know the cost yet?

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2008, 08:51:21 PM »
NICE!   Do you know the cost yet?

40 for a kit , 50 for assembled
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

Offline RoBoTicSTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Helpful? 0
  • Man is a robot with defects
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2008, 06:55:33 PM »
as soon as it comes out notify me

Offline airman00

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,653
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
Re: $50 Microcontroler
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2008, 07:43:31 PM »
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!


Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

 


Get Your Ad Here