Author Topic: 50$ robot code with atmega168  (Read 2185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
50$ robot code with atmega168
« on: December 03, 2008, 07:30:02 PM »
I'm new to the robotics world, and I have absolutely no idea how to program in C. I built the 50$ robot but I can't upload the provided code to my mcu. I think it's because its the 168. Can someone please help me?

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 09:43:51 PM »
Please explain wjat you mean by 'I cant upload the provided code..'.

What happens, what doesn't happen.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 06:46:33 PM »
I plug the circuit into the computer, and turn it on. I then hit "Write all" and it starts writing it. The status bar says writing, and goes up to 100%,then it says verifying, goes up to 100%, then it says verifying again goes up to 100%, and then an alert comes up saying write failed.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2008, 06:52:14 PM »
I figured it out, I forgot to scroll down to the bottom of the microcontroller upgrade page where it says to change the Makefile.

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2008, 08:56:07 PM »
nvm it still doesn't work. Here is a video of what is exactly happening.

I edited the makefile and Sor_Utils file like it says in the 168 tutorial.
They are attached.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 03:50:40 PM by Jdog »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2009, 10:54:47 PM »
did you ever get it to work?

Offline JdogTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ robot code with atmega168
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2009, 12:44:10 AM »
Nope, gave up on it and got and atmega8 instead.

 


Get Your Ad Here